RQConf_PartnerLoginUrl RQConf_CheckUrl

The Charter of the French language and its regulations govern the consultation of English-language content.

Input Categories and ITC/ITR Allocation Methods

In order to determine the taxable supplies that entitle them to input tax credits (ITCs) and input tax refunds (ITRs), financial institutions must divide the property and services acquired into three input categories:

  • property purchased for use as capital property (excluded input)
  • property or services acquired only for the purpose of making supplies of taxable or exempt property or services (exclusive inputs)
  • property or services acquired for the purpose of making both taxable and exempt supplies (residual inputs)

Financial institutions must follow certain rules when determining the ITC and ITR amounts they may claim regarding their inputs.

In the case of residual inputs, special rules apply to financial institutions that are qualifying financial institutions.

Note End of note

One mission. Concrete actions.

Read all about how we work to support and inform you. Our vision and values guide us as we carry out our role.

Veuillez patienter