Special Measures for the Mohawks of Kahnawake

There are special measures providing for a QST exemption on sales of property to the Mohawks of Kahnawake. The exemption does not cover meals served in restaurants, fuel, alcoholic beverages or cannabis products.

A Mohawk of Kahnawake who wishes to obtain the exemption must show two pieces of identification, one of which must be the Certificate of Indian Status. The other piece of identification may be the individual's Québec driver's licence, Québec health insurance card or Québec birth certificate. On the invoice, the merchant must enter the purchaser's name and the number shown on the Certificate of Indian Status.

Municipalities covered by the measures

If you do business in any of the municipalities listed in the table below, you must apply the QST exemption measures on your sales to Kahnawake Mohawks.

The municipalities of the MRC de Roussillon

  • Candiac
  • Châteauguay
  • Delson
  • La Prairie
  • Léry
  • Mercier
  • Saint-Constant
  • Sainte-Catherine
  • Saint-Isidore
  • Saint-Mathieu
  • Saint-Philippe

Other municipalities

  • Baie-D'Urfé
  • Beaconsfield
  • Brossard
  • Côte-Saint-Luc
  • Dollard-Des Ormeaux
  • Dorval
  • Hampstead
  • Kirkland
  • L'Île-Dorval
  • Longueuil
  • Montréal
  • Montréal-Est
  • Montréal-Ouest
  • Mont-Royal
  • Pointe-Claire
  • Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue
  • Saint-Lambert
  • Senneville
  • Westmount

One mission. Concrete actions.

Read all about how we work to support and inform you. Our vision and values guide us as we carry out our role.

Veuillez patienter