Deduction Notice

We will send you a deduction notice specifying the terms for deducting support payments from the remuneration you pay to an employee and for remitting them to us. 

Once the deduction notice comes into force, you must deduct the specified amounts, for as long as the employee continues to be employed by you and is required to pay support.

Important

Only a notice from Revenu Québec can end your obligation to deduct support or modify the amounts deducted. For example, we will send you a notice one month before the end of the current year informing you of the annual indexation and the new amount to be deducted. You must then modify the amount deducted from the first payment (and all subsequent payments) made to the employee in the following year.

You are not allowed to charge a fee to employees when you deduct amounts of support from their remuneration.

Special case

If you notify us that a person is employed by you but receives no remuneration, we can assess the value of the employee's services and set appropriate remuneration on that basis. You will then receive a deduction notice indicating the amount of the source deductions you are required to make, based on the remuneration we have set.

We may also assess the value of an employee's services if the remuneration you declared for the employee is clearly less than the value of the services rendered.

If you object to the remuneration we set, you may file form PPA-120-V, Notice of Contestation (Act to facilitate the payment of support), no later than 20 days after receiving the deduction notice. Send the notice of contestation by registered or certified mail to the following address:

Direction principale des oppositions
Revenu Québec
3800, rue de Marly, secteur 5-1-2
Québec (Québec)  G1X 4A5

Last Updated:

Avis de retenue

Nous vous transmettrons un avis de retenue qui vous informera sur les modalités relatives aux retenues de la pension alimentaire due par l'un de vos employés et sur le versement qui nous est destiné.

Dès que l'avis de retenue sera en vigueur, vous devrez retenir la somme qui y est inscrite tant que votre employé conservera son emploi et qu'il devra payer la pension.

Important
Seul un avis de Revenu Québec peut modifier la somme à retenir ou mettre fin à votre obligation. Par exemple, au moment de l'indexation annuelle de la pension alimentaire, nous vous transmettrons un avis à cet effet un mois avant la fin de l'année en cours. Vous devrez alors modifier le montant de la somme à retenir sur le premier versement de l'année qui va commencer et sur les versements ultérieurs.

Vous ne pouvez pas exiger de frais de vos employés pour les sommes que vous retenez à titre de pension alimentaire.

Particularité

Si vous nous avisez que la personne concernée qui travaille pour vous ne reçoit pas de rémunération, nous avons le pouvoir d'évaluer les services qu'elle vous rend et de fixer une juste rémunération. Vous recevrez alors un avis de retenue sur la base de la rémunération qui aura été fixée et vous devrez vous y conformer.

Il en sera de même si nous estimons que la rémunération que vous déclarez payer à cette personne est manifestement inférieure à la valeur des services qu'elle vous rend.

Si vous êtes en désaccord avec la rémunération fixée, vous pouvez envoyer le formulaire Avis de contestation (Loi facilitant le paiement des pensions alimentaires) [PPA-120] au ministre au plus tard 20 jours après avoir reçu l'avis de retenue. Transmettez ce formulaire par poste recommandée à l'adresse suivante :

Direction principale des oppositions
Revenu Québec
3800, rue de Marly, secteur 5-1-2
Québec (Québec)  G1X 4A5

Dernière mise à jour :