What Is the HST?

The harmonized sales tax (HST) replaces the provincial sales tax (PST) and the goods and services tax (GST) in the participating provinces. It applies to the taxable supply of goods and services made in the following provinces:

  • Prince Edward Island
  • New Brunswick
  • Nova Scotia
  • Ontario
  • Newfoundland and Labrador

Collecting the HST

The HST applies according to the same rules as those governing the GST. HST rates can vary from one participating province to another.

Businesses registered for the GST are automatically registered for the HST. They must collect and remit the HST on all taxable supplies (except zero-rated supplies) made in a participating province. These supplies include:

  • the sale of tangible personal property
  • the lease of tangible personal property
  • the sale of services

The place of supply rules apply for the purpose of determining whether or not a sale is considered made in a participating province. Québec businesses that are registered for the GST and that do business in the participating provinces must take these rules into account in deciding whether they must collect the GST or the HST on supplies made to residents of these provinces.

Special rules for the sale of road vehicles

Special rules apply to the sale of road vehicles. If a road vehicle is sold by a GST/HST registrant in a non-participating province (Québec, for example) and then taken to a participating province and the GST has been collected on the vehicle, the purchaser must pay the provincial component of the HST when registering the vehicle in the participating province.

However, if the road vehicle is acquired from a non-GST/HST registrant in a non-participating province and the vehicle is then taken to a participating province, the purchaser must pay the provincial motor vehicle tax when registering the vehicle, and cannot claim an input tax credit (ITC).

Other supplies

Contact our client services or the Revenu Québec office nearest you for the rules governing the supply of other property and services in a participating province. Such supplies include:

  • intangible personal property
  • real property and services associated with real property
  • passenger and freight transportation services
  • telecommunications services
Last Updated:

Qu'est-ce que la TVH?

La taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) regroupe la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS) et la taxe de vente provinciale (TVP) dans les provinces participantes. Elle s'applique aux fournitures taxables de produits et services effectuées dans les provinces suivantes :

  • Île-du-Prince-Édouard;
  • Nouveau-Brunswick;
  • Nouvelle-Écosse;
  • Ontario;
  • Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Perception de la TVH

La TVH s'applique selon les mêmes règles que la TPS. Son taux peut varier d'une province participante à l'autre.

Les entreprises inscrites au fichier de la TPS sont automatiquement inscrites à celui de la TVH. Celles-ci doivent percevoir et verser la TVH à l'égard de toutes les fournitures taxables (sauf les fournitures détaxées) qu'elles effectuent dans les provinces participantes. Ces fournitures incluent

  • la vente de biens meubles corporels;
  • la location de biens meubles corporels;
  • la vente de services.

Les règles relatives au lieu de la fourniture permettent de déterminer quand une vente est considérée comme effectuée dans une province participante. Les entreprises du Québec inscrites aux fichiers de la TPS qui font des affaires dans les provinces participantes doivent tenir compte de ces règles. Elles leur permettent de déterminer si elles doivent percevoir la TVH ou la TPS sur les fournitures faites aux résidents de ces provinces.

Règles spéciales relatives à la vente de véhicules routiers

Des règles spéciales s'appliquent relativement à la vente de véhicules routiers. Si un véhicule routier est vendu par une personne inscrite au fichier de la TPS/TVH dans une province non participante (comme le Québec), qu'il est par la suite transporté dans une province participante et que la TPS a été perçue sur le véhicule, l'acheteur devra payer la partie provinciale de la TVH lors de l'immatriculation du véhicule dans la province participante.

Par contre, si le véhicule routier est acquis dans une province non participante d'une personne qui n'est pas inscrite au fichier de la TPS/TVH et qu'il est par la suite transporté dans une province participante, l'acheteur devra payer une taxe provinciale sur les véhicules à moteur quand il immatriculera le véhicule. Par ailleurs, il ne pourra pas demander de crédit de taxe sur les intrants (CTI).

Autres fournitures

Communiquez avec notre service à la clientèle ou adressez-vous au bureau de Revenu Québec le plus près de chez vous pour connaître les règles concernant les autres fournitures de produits et services effectuées dans une province participante, par exemple

  • les biens meubles incorporels;
  • les immeubles et les services rattachés à un immeuble;
  • les services de transport de passagers et de marchandises;
  • les services de télécommunication.
Dernière mise à jour :