Registering for the GST and QST

To find out if you are required to register your business for the GST and QST, or for information about the types of sales and the consumption taxes that apply depending on the place of sale, click Basic Rules.

How to register

You can register for the GST and QST by:

  • using either of the following online services:
    • Register a New Business (GST, QST, other consumption taxes, source deductions and corporation income tax), or 
    • Register a Business with Revenu Québec (register pursuant to an act), if you are already registered with Revenu Québec (you can access the service in the Consumption Taxes section in My Account);
  • calling our client services; or
  • filing form LM-1-V, Application for Registration.
Note

See brochure IN-273-V, Registering for Consumption Taxes by Phone Is Easy!, to find out what information you will need to provide in order to register.

When to register

QST

You must apply for registration under the QST system before you make your first taxable sale in Québec other than as a small supplier. You must collect the QST as of the date you register (or are required to be registered).

GST

You must apply for registration under the GST system before the 30th day following the day on which you make your first taxable sale in Canada other than as a small supplier. You must collect the GST as of the date you register (or are required to be registered).

Small supplier

Refer to Details Concerning Small Suppliers for more information on what constitutes a small supplier.

Démarrer une entreprise (available in French only)

The Démarrer une entreprise online service developed by Entreprises Québec (formerly Services Québec – Entreprises) guides you in the process of registering a new business with several Québec government departments and agencies, and lets you track the status of your applications for registration. Learn more…

Last Updated:

Inscription aux fichiers de la TPS et de la TVQ

Pour savoir si vous devez notamment inscrire votre entreprise aux fichiers de la TPS et de la TVQ ou pour connaître les types de ventes ainsi que les taxes applicables selon le lieu de la vente, consultez la sous-section Règles de base.

Comment s'inscrire

Vous pouvez vous inscrire aux fichiers de la TPS et de la TVQ

  • soit en utilisant
    • le service en ligne Inscription d'une entreprise en démarrage (TPS, TVQ, autres taxes, retenues à la source et impôt des sociétés),
    • le service en ligne Inscrire une entreprise aux fichiers de Revenu Québec, accessible dans la section Taxes de Mon dossier, si vous êtes déjà inscrit à un fichier de Revenu Québec;
  • soit en téléphonant à notre service à la clientèle;
  • soit en remplissant le formulaire Demande d'inscription (LM-1).
Note

Pour connaître les renseignements qui vous seront demandés lors de l'inscription par téléphone, consultez la publication S'inscrire aux taxes en un coup de fil, c'est facile! (IN-273).

Quand s'inscrire

Fichier de la TVQ

Vous devez présenter une demande d'inscription au fichier de la TVQ avant d'effectuer votre première fourniture taxable au Québec autrement qu'à titre de petit fournisseur. Vous devez percevoir la TVQ dès le moment où vous êtes inscrit ou tenu de vous inscrire à ce fichier.

Fichier de la TPS

Vous devez présenter une demande d'inscription au fichier de la TPS avant le 30e jour suivant celui où vous effectuez, autrement qu'à titre de petit fournisseur, une première fourniture taxable au Canada. Vous devez percevoir la TPS dès le moment où vous êtes inscrit ou tenu de vous inscrire à ce fichier.

Petit fournisseur

Pour obtenir plus d'information sur la notion de petit fournisseur, consultez la page Particularités concernant le petit fournisseur.

Démarrer une entreprise

Le service en ligne Démarrer une entreprise d'Entreprises Québec (anciennement Services Québec – Entreprises) vous permet d'effectuer, étape par étape, des démarches auprès de différents ministères et organismes du gouvernement du Québec et d'en faire le suivi. Pour en savoir plus…

Dernière mise à jour :