The Quick Method of Accounting for Calculating GST and QST Remittances

The Quick Method is a simplified accounting method designed to help registrants calculate the GST and QST they must remit to Revenu Québec.

Under the Quick Method of Accounting, you collect GST and QST in the usual manner. However, you need not claim input tax credits (ITCs) and input tax refunds (ITRs) respecting your current operating expenses or purchases made in the course of your commercial activities, because the Quick Method of Accounting takes them into account.

For GST purposes, you need only multiply the total taxable supplies (including GST) by the applicable rate, and for QST purposes, simply multiply the total taxable supplies (including QST) by the applicable rate.

If applicable, you must then calculate the 1% rate reduction on the qualifying portion of your taxable supplies and deduct these partial amounts from the tax payable.

You must remit all of the amounts so calculated for each reporting period.

In calculating your total supplies, do not include:

  • zero-rated supplies
  • supplies of real property and capital property
  • supplies made to Indians

You may use the Quick Method of Accounting regardless of whether you include the GST and QST in your sale prices or indicate the taxes separately from the price. Users of the Quick Method are still required to keep all supporting documents concerning their purchases and supplies.

If you make taxable supplies in participating provinces, the rates may vary depending on the location of your business and depending on whether you charged GST or HST on your taxable supplies (excluding zero-rated supplies). For more information, refer to the Canada Revenue Agency's guide Quick Method of Accounting for GST/HST (RC4058).

As a user of the Quick Method, you do not claim ITCs or ITRs in respect of most business expenses (such as heating costs, rent and telephone expenses). You may, however, claim ITCs and ITRs respecting acquisitions of land and property (such as a building, a vehicle or office furniture) that give entitlement to capital cost allowance (CCA) for income tax purposes. These ITCs and ITRs may be claimed in your GST and QST returns for the period during which the purchases were made.

Last Updated:

Méthode rapide de calcul des montants de TPS et de TVQ à verser

La méthode rapide est une méthode comptable simplifiée qui a été mise au point pour vous aider à calculer les montants de TPS et de TVQ que vous devez verser à Revenu Québec.

Avec la méthode rapide de comptabilité, vous percevez la TPS et la TVQ de la façon habituelle. Cependant, vous n'avez pas à demander de crédits de taxe sur les intrants (CTI) ni de remboursements de la taxe sur les intrants (RTI) pour vos frais d'exploitation courants et vos achats relatifs à vos activités commerciales. En effet, la méthode rapide de comptabilité en tient compte.

Pour connaître le montant partiel de la TPS à verser, vous devez seulement multiplier par le taux applicable le total de vos fournitures taxables comprenant la TPS. Pour connaître le montant partiel de la TVQ à verser, vous devez multiplier par le taux applicable le total de vos fournitures taxables comprenant la TVQ.

Par la suite, si vous y avez droit, vous devez calculer le crédit de 1 % sur la partie admissible de vos fournitures taxables et le déduire des montants partiels de taxes à verser.

Pour chaque période de déclaration, vous devez nous remettre les sommes ainsi calculées.

Vous ne devez pas tenir compte des transactions suivantes dans le calcul du total de vos fournitures :

  • les fournitures détaxées;
  • les ventes d'immeubles et d'immobilisations;
  • les fournitures faites aux Indiens.

Vous pouvez utiliser la méthode rapide de comptabilité si la TPS et la TVQ sont comprises dans vos prix de vente ou si vous les indiquez séparément. Vous devez conserver les documents qui se rapportent aux fournitures et aux achats effectués.

Vous faites des fournitures taxables dans les provinces participantes? Les taux peuvent varier selon l'emplacement de votre entreprise. Ils peuvent aussi changer selon que vous avez exigé la TPS ou la TVH relativement à vos fournitures taxables (excluant vos fournitures détaxées). Pour plus de renseignements, consultez le guide La méthode rapide de comptabilité pour la TPS/TVH (RC4058) de l'Agence du revenu du Canada.

Vous n'avez pas à demander de CTI ni de RTI pour la plupart de vos dépenses d'entreprise, comme les frais de chauffage, de loyer et de téléphone. Cependant, vous pourrez demander des CTI et des RTI pour les terrains et les biens qui donnent droit à une déduction pour amortissement aux fins du calcul de l''impôt sur le revenu, par exemple pour un bâtiment, un véhicule ou un ameublement de bureau. Ces montants peuvent être demandés dans vos déclarations de TPS et de TVQ pour la période au cours de laquelle les achats ont été faits.

Dernière mise à jour :