Input Tax Credits and Input Tax Refunds

If you are registered for the GST and the QST, you may, as a rule, recover the amount of the taxes you paid on property and services that you purchased in order to sell taxable and zero-rated property or services. The GST is refunded as input tax credits (ITCs), the QST as input tax refunds (ITRs).

The term inputs refers to property or services used or consumed in the course of your commercial activities.

To be entitled to ITCs or ITRs, you must have been a registrant during the reporting period in respect of which you were required to pay the taxes.

Public service bodies

Under the GST and QST systems, public service bodies (This link will open a new window) that acquired property and services for which they are not entitled to claim ITCs or ITRs may be able to claim partial rebates of the GST and QST.

Claiming ITRs and ITCs

Most registrants claim their ITCs and ITRs when they file their GST and QST returns for the reporting period during which the purchases were made.

Example of a usual ITC and ITR claim

Sylvia is registered for the GST and the QST, and files her returns on a quarterly basis. In December 2013, she made purchases for use in the course of her commercial activities.

As most registrants do, she claimed ITCs and ITRs on the purchases in her GST/HST and QST return filed for the period from October 1, 2013, to December 21, 2013. The deadline for filing this return was January 31, 2014.

However, even if most registrants claim their ITCs and ITRs as soon as they can, they generally have four years in which to claim their ITCs and ITRs for a given reporting period. This four-year period begins on the filing deadline for the return in which they could have claimed the ITCs and ITRs.

Example of a delayed ITC and ITC claim

Sylvia is registered for the GST and the QST, and files her returns on a quarterly basis. In December 2013, she made purchases for use in the course of her commercial activities. She therefore has until January 31, 2018 (that is, the deadline for the return covering the reporting period from October 1 to December 31, 2017) to claim ITCs and ITRs on the purchases she made in December 2013.

The four-year period is reduced to two years for listed financial institutions (This link will open a new window) (other than corporations that are considered financial institutions because they made an election to deem certain supplies they make to be supplies of financial services), such as banks, insurers or trusts.

The period is also reduced for persons whose taxable sales or supplies during each of the two fiscal years preceding the fiscal year in question exceeded $6 million. However, the period is four years for charities and businesses if 90% or more of their supplies (excluding supplies of financial services) made during either of the two fiscal years prior to the fiscal year in question were taxable supplies.

Certain registrants that have claimed ITCs for HST paid in Ontario may have to recapture the portion pertaining to the provincial component of the HST paid on the purchase of certain goods and services. This measure applies to registrants whose total annual taxable supplies exceed $10 million, as well as to certain financial institutions. For more information, contact us.

Last Updated:

Crédit de taxe sur les intrants et remboursement de la taxe sur les intrants

Si vous êtes inscrit aux fichiers de la TPS et de la TVQ, vous pouvez, en règle générale, récupérer le montant des taxes que vous avez payées sur les biens et les services acquis en vue de vendre vos biens ou vos services taxables ou détaxés. La TPS vous sera remboursée sous forme de crédit de taxe sur les intrants (CTI), et la TVQ, sous forme de remboursement de la taxe sur les intrants (RTI).

On entend par intrants les biens ou les services utilisés ou consommés pour vos activités commerciales.

Pour avoir droit à des CTI et à des RTI à l'égard des biens ou des services taxables acquis dans le cadre de vos activités commerciales, vous devez être inscrit pendant la période de déclaration au cours de laquelle vous devez payer ces taxes.

Organismes de services publics

Dans les régimes de la TPS et de la TVQ, les biens et les services acquis par certains organismes de services publics (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre) et qui ne donnent pas droit à un CTI ni à un RTI peuvent donner droit à un remboursement partiel de la TPS et de la TVQ.

Demande de CTI et de RTI

La plupart des inscrits demandent des CTI et des RTI lorsqu'ils produisent leurs déclarations de TPS et de TVQ pour la période de déclaration où ils ont fait leurs achats.

Exemple de demande de CTI et de RTI

Mme Simard est inscrite aux fichiers de la TPS et de la TVQ. Ses périodes de déclaration sont trimestrielles. Elle a fait des achats pour ses activités commerciales en décembre 2013.

Comme la plupart des inscrits le font, elle a demandé des CTI et des RTI relativement à ces achats dans sa déclaration de TPS et de TVQ produite pour la période du 1er octobre au 31 décembre 2013. La date limite de production de cette déclaration était le 31 janvier 2014.

Même si la plupart des inscrits demandent leurs CTI et leurs RTI sans tarder, vous avez en général un délai de quatre ans pour le faire. En effet, vous pouvez généralement demander des CTI ou des RTI au plus tard le jour où vous êtes tenu de produire la déclaration qui se termine quatre ans après la fin de la période de déclaration dans laquelle les CTI et les RTI auraient pu être demandés.

Exemple de délai pour effectuer ses demandes de CTI et de RTI

Mme Simard est inscrite aux fichiers de la TPS et de la TVQ. Ses périodes de déclaration sont trimestrielles. Elle a fait des achats pour ses activités commerciales en décembre 2013. Elle a donc jusqu'au 31 janvier 2018 pour demander un CTI et un RTI relativement à ses achats, puisque la date limite de production de la déclaration visant la période du 1er octobre au 31 décembre 2017 est le 31 janvier 2018.

Le délai de quatre ans est réduit à deux ans pour les institutions financières désignées (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre) (sauf la société qui est considérée comme une institution financière parce qu'elle a exercé un choix pour que certaines de ses fournitures soient considérées comme des services financiers), par exemple une banque, un assureur ou une fiducie.

Le délai est aussi réduit pour les personnes dont le total des ventes ou des fournitures taxables dépasse 6 millions de dollars pour chacun des deux exercices précédant un exercice donné. Toutefois, le délai est de quatre ans pour les organismes de bienfaisance et les entreprises dont 90 % ou plus des fournitures (excluant les fournitures de services financiers) faites au cours de l'un ou l'autre de ces exercices précédents sont taxables.

Notez que certains inscrits qui ont demandé des CTI pour la TVH payée en Ontario peuvent avoir à récupérer la portion relative à la composante provinciale de la TVH payée à l'achat de certains biens ou services. Il s'agit des inscrits dont le total annuel des fournitures taxables excède 10 millions de dollars ainsi que de certaines institutions financières. Pour plus d'information, communiquez avec nous.

Dernière mise à jour :