Gifts of Used Road Vehicles 

Used road vehicles supplied by way of a gift between two related individuals (This link will open a new window) are generally not subject to the GST.

However, used road vehicles that must be registered under the Highway Safety Code and that are supplied by way of gift are, as a rule, taxable under the QST system at the rate of 9.975%. The QST must be calculated on the vehicle's estimated value. However, the QST does not apply if the vehicle

  • is supplied by one individual to another and the two individuals are spouses or related by blood, marriage or adoption. Both individuals must complete and sign form VD-80.1-V, Declaration of a Transaction Between Related Individuals with Regard to a Road Vehicle Registered in Québec;
  • is supplied by the estate of a deceased individual in execution of the person's will or in accordance with the applicable legislation concerning inheritance; or
  • is transferred from one individual to another as part of the settlement of their rights arising as a result of their marriage, or as a result of divorce, legal separation, marriage annulment or death.

When the vehicle in question is a used road vehicle registered in a Canadian province or territory other than Québec, the QST applies and is calculated on the estimated value of the vehicle. If the vehicle in question is registered outside Canada, the QST only applies when the GST applies. In such a case, the QST is calculated on the total of the value of the vehicle plus duties and excise taxes.

Last Updated:

Don de véhicules routiers d'occasion

Le don d'un véhicule routier d'occasion entre particuliers liés (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre) n'est généralement pas assujetti à la TPS.

Dans le régime de la TVQ, le don d'un véhicule routier d'occasion qui doit être immatriculé en vertu du Code de la sécurité routière est généralement taxable au taux de 9,975 %. La TVQ est alors calculée sur la valeur estimative du véhicule.

Toutefois, la TVQ ne s'applique pas dans les cas suivants de dons ou de transferts de véhicules :

  • le véhicule est donné par un particulier à un autre particulier qui est son conjoint ou une personne qui lui est liée par les liens du sang, du mariage ou de l'adoption (le donateur et l'acquéreur doivent remplir et signer le formulaire Déclaration de transaction entre particuliers liés portant sur un véhicule routier immatriculé au Québec [VD-80.1]);
  • le véhicule est donné par la succession d'un particulier décédé, conformément au testament de ce dernier ou à la législation relative à la transmission de biens au décès;
  • le véhicule routier est transféré entre des particuliers en paiement des droits découlant de leur mariage ou à la suite d'un divorce, d'une séparation de corps, d'une annulation de mariage ou d'un décès.

Lorsque le véhicule donné est un véhicule routier d'occasion qui est immatriculé au Canada, mais hors du Québec, la TVQ s'applique. Elle est alors calculée sur la valeur estimative du véhicule. Si le véhicule donné est immatriculé hors du Canada, la TVQ s'applique lorsque la TPS s'applique. Elle est calculée sur le total de la valeur du véhicule, des droits de douane et des taxes d'accise.

Dernière mise à jour :