GST and QST Rebates for Public Service Bodies

Under the GST and QST systems, taxable property and services that are acquired by certain public service bodies (This link will open a new window) (PSBs) and that do not give entitlement to input tax credits (ITCs) or input tax refunds (ITRs) may nonetheless give entitlement to GST and QST rebates for public service bodies.

Municipalities – QST rebate rates

The QST rebate rate applicable to property and services acquired by municipalities was fixed at 62.8% for the period from January 1 to December 31, 2014. However as of January 1, 2015, the rebate rate is 50%.

Click Partial QST Rebate for Municipalities and Organizations Designated as a Municipality for details of the rebate rates applicable to property and services acquired at the end of 2014.

The table below gives the applicable rebate rates.

Type of public service body Rebate rate
GST QST
Municipalities 100% 50%
School authorities 68% 47%
Universities and public colleges 67% 47%
Hospital authorities, facility operators (This link will open a new window) and external suppliers (This link will open a new window) 83% 51.5%
Charities and qualifying non-profit organizations (other than selected public service bodies (This link will open a new window)) 50% 50%

Example

A charity that provides a meals-on-wheels service to underprivileged individuals purchases disposable dinnerware for $500. The charity is not entitled to ITCs or ITRs because the sales of the meals are exempt. However, it may claim a rebate of 50% (the rebate rate for charities) of the GST and QST paid on the dinnerware it purchased.

GST rebate

($500 × 5%) × 50% = $25 × 50% = $12.50

QST rebate

($500 × 9.975%) × 50% = $49.88 × 50% = $24.94

HST

Public service bodies that paid HST in the participating provinces may be entitled to a full or partial rebate of the federal component of the HST (portion corresponding to the GST). For more information, consult the Canada Revenue Agency guide GST/HST Public Service Bodies' Rebate (RC4034) or contact us.

Last Updated:

Remboursement de TPS et de TVQ accordé aux organismes de services publics

Dans les régimes de la TPS et de la TVQ, les biens et les services taxables acquis par certains organismes de services publics (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre) (OSP) peuvent donner droit à un remboursement s'ils ne donnent pas droit à un crédit de taxe sur les intrants (CTI) ni à un remboursement de la taxe sur les intrants (RTI).

Municipalités – Taux de remboursement de la TVQ

Établi à 62,8 % pour la période du 1er janvier au 31 décembre 2014, le taux de remboursement de la TVQ applicable aux biens et services acquis par les municipalités est de 50 % depuis le 1er janvier 2015.

Consultez la page Remboursement partiel de la TVQ aux municipalités et aux organismes désignés comme municipalités pour des précisions sur le taux de remboursement à appliquer aux biens et services acquis à la fin de l'année 2014.

Taux de remboursement applicables
Type d'organisme Taux de remboursement
TPS TVQ
Municipalité 100 % 50 %
Administration scolaire 68 % 47 %
Université et collège public 67 % 47 %
Administration hospitalière, exploitant d'établissement (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre) et fournisseur externe (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre) 83 % 51,5 %
Organisme de bienfaisance et organisme sans but lucratif admissible (sauf un organisme déterminé de services publics (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre)) 50 % 50 %

Exemple

Un organisme de bienfaisance achète de la vaisselle jetable, au coût de 500 $, afin de vendre des repas à domicile à des personnes défavorisées. Il n'a pas droit à un CTI ni à un RTI, puisque cette vente de repas est exonérée. Toutefois, il a droit à un remboursement de 50 % de la TPS et de la TVQ payées pour la vaisselle, soit le taux de remboursement prévu pour ce type d'organisme.

Remboursement de TPS

(500 $ x 5 %) x 50 % = 25 $ x 50 % = 12,50 $

Remboursement de TVQ

(500 $ x 9,975 %) x 50 % = 49,88 $ x 50 % = 24,94 $

TVH

Les OSP qui ont payé la TVH dans les provinces participantes peuvent avoir droit à un remboursement total ou partiel de la partie fédérale de la TVH qui correspond à la TPS. Pour plus de renseignements, consultez le guide Remboursement de la TPS/TVH pour les organismes de services publics (RC4034) de l'Agence du revenu du Canada ou communiquez avec nous.

Dernière mise à jour :