Employees Not Subject to Tip Allocation

Employees (such as hotel valets, porters, car attendants and doormen) who do not make tippable sales (This link will open a new window) in a pay period are not subject to tip allocation. Employees in any of the following situations are also not subject to tip allocation:

  • All or substantially all (90% or more) of the employee's tips come from a redistribution of the tips received by the other employees of the establishment (for example, a busboy).
  • The employee works as a cloakroom attendant.
  • The employer is a corporation, and the employee (or his or her spouse) holds over 40% of the corporation's voting shares at the end of the pay period.
  • The employer is a partnership, and the employee is the spouse of an individual whose share of the partnership's profits would be more than 40% at the end of the pay period if, for the purpose of determining the spouse's percentage interest, it is assumed that the end of the partnership's fiscal period coincides with the end of the pay period and the partnership's income for the fiscal period is equal to $1 million.
  • The employee is the employer's spouse.
  • The employee receives all or substantially all (90% or more) of his or her tips directly or indirectly from service charges paid by the customers of the regulated establishment (This link will open a new window). In this case, the following conditions must be met:
    • Service charges represent, in all or substantially all cases, at least 10% of the amount of tippable sales, and customers are informed of the mandatory nature of the charges.
    • Any tip-sharing arrangement in effect at the establishment is administered by the employer.
Last Updated:

Employés non visés

Les employés qui n'effectuent pas de ventes pouvant donner lieu à la perception d'un pourboire (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre) au cours d'une période de paie ne sont pas visés par l'attribution des pourboires. Ce sont, par exemple, le valet de chambre, le portier, le bagagiste et le voiturier. D'autres employés peuvent également être exclus de l'application de cette attribution. Il s'agit des employés suivants :

  • un employé dont la totalité ou la quasi-totalité (90 % ou plus) des pourboires provient d'une redistribution des pourboires reçus par les autres employés de l'établissement (par exemple, un commis débarrasseur);
  • un employé qui occupe la fonction de préposé au vestiaire;
  • si l'employeur est une société, un employé qui détient ou dont le conjoint détient, à la fin de la période de paie, plus de 40 % des actions avec droit de vote de la société;
  • si l'employeur est une société de personnes, un employé dont la part du conjoint dans les profits de la société de personnes excéderait 40 % à la fin de la période de paie si l'on présumait, pour déterminer le pourcentage de sa participation, que l'exercice financier de la société de personnes se termine à la fin de cette période de paie et que le revenu de la société de personnes pour cet exercice financier est égal à 1 million de dollars;
  • un employé qui est le conjoint de l'employeur;
  • un employé dont la totalité ou la quasi-totalité (90 % ou plus) des pourboires qu'il reçoit, directement ou indirectement, provient des frais de service payés par les clients de l'établissement visé (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre). De plus, les conditions suivantes doivent être respectées :
    • dans la totalité ou la quasi-totalité des cas, les frais de service représentent au moins 10 % du montant des ventes pouvant donner lieu à la perception d'un pourboire (ils sont obligatoires, et le client en est informé),
    • le régime de partage des pourboires, s'il en existe un, est géré par l'employeur.
Dernière mise à jour :