Death Benefits

Death benefits are amounts paid to the heirs of a deceased employee, in recognition of services rendered by the employee. Such a benefit may be, for example, an amount refunded for sick leave accumulated but not used before the employee's death.

Source deductions of income tax

If you pay a death benefit, you must withhold income tax of 16% or 20% on the taxable portion of the payment (that is, the amount of the benefit minus, where applicable, a maximum exemption of $10,000) only if the benefit is paid in the year of death or the following year.

The beneficiary or beneficiaries of a death benefit will generally be entitled to the $10,000 exemption when filing their income tax return.

Note
Death benefits are not amounts paid after the death of an employee. For more information about those amounts, click Deceased Employee. Note that death benefits, which are paid by employers, are not to be confused with the death benefit paid by Retraite Québec.
Last Updated:

Prestation au décès

Une prestation au décès est une somme versée aux héritiers d'un employé décédé, en reconnaissance des services rendus par cet employé. Une telle prestation peut être, par exemple, le remboursement d'une somme pour des congés de maladie accumulés au décès.

Retenue d'impôt

Si vous versez une prestation au décès, vous devez retenir 16 % ou 20 % d'impôt sur la partie imposable de ce paiement (soit le montant de la prestation moins, s'il y a lieu, une exemption maximale de 10 000 $) seulement si la prestation au décès est versée dans l'année du décès ou dans l'année suivante.

Le ou les bénéficiaires d'une prestation au décès auront généralement droit à cette exemption lors de la production de leur déclaration de revenus.

Note

Il ne s'agit pas des sommes versées après le décès d'un employé. Pour plus de renseignements sur ces sommes, voyez la page Employé décédé. De plus, une prestation au décès n'est pas une prestation de décès. Cette dernière est versée par Retraite Québec alors que la prestation au décès est plutôt versée par l'employeur.

Dernière mise à jour :