Profit-Sharing Plans, Employee Trusts and Employee Benefit Plans

Amount paid to a custodian or to a trustee

An amount that you pay to a custodian of an employee benefit plan (This link will open a new window) or a trustee of a profit-sharing plan or an employee trust (This link will open a new window) is not subject to source deductions of income tax or to employee and employer Québec parental insurance plan (QPIP) premiums.

However, it is subject to the following at the time it is paid:

Similarly, you must include this amount in your total payroll used to calculate your health services fund contribution rate, your participation in workforce skills development and, if applicable, your contribution to the Workforce Skills Development and Recognition Fund (WSDRF).

Note

If you pay an amount to a custodian or a trustee on behalf of an employee who reports for work at one of your establishments located in Québec and at one of your establishments located outside Québec, and the employee ordinarily reports for work at one of your establishments located in Québec, the amount is subject to the employer contribution to the health services fund and the contribution related to labour standards. We consider that you must apply the same rule to employee and employer QPP contributions.

Similarly, you must include this amount in your total payroll used to calculate your health services fund contribution rate, your participation in workforce skills development and, if applicable, your contribution to the WSDRF.

Amount paid by a custodian or a trustee

As a rule, where a custodian or a trustee pays amounts to one of your current or former employees, the amounts are not subject to source deductions or employer contributions.

Exceptions

An amount paid by the custodian of an employee benefit plan (This link will open a new window) is subject to source deductions of income tax, unless the amount is a return of an amount contributed by the employee to the plan.

An amount paid by the trustee of a profit-sharing plan (except an amount referred to in the following paragraph) is subject to employee and employer QPP contributions only if the amount can reasonably be attributed to an amount paid to the trustee before May 13, 1994.

A single payment made by the trustee of a profit-sharing plan in full satisfaction of all of the individual's rights in the plan is subject to a source deduction of income tax of 16% (if the payment is $5,000 or less) or 20% (if the payment is more than $5,000), to the extent that the payment must be included in the individual's income in the year it was received.

Notes
  • The amounts attributed by a trustee of an employee trust (This link will open a new window) or paid by a custodian of an employee benefit plan must be reported on an RL-1 slip (see courtesy translation RL-1-T).
  • The amounts attributed or paid by a trustee of a profit-sharing plan must be reported on an RL-25 slip (see courtesy translation RL-25-T).
Last Updated:

Régime d'intéressement, fiducie pour employés et régime de prestations aux employés

Somme que vous versez à un dépositaire ou à un fiduciaire

Une somme que vous versez à un dépositaire ou à un fiduciaire d'un régime de prestations aux employés (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre), d'un régime d'intéressement ou d'une fiducie pour employés (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre) n'est pas assujettie à la retenue d'impôt ni aux cotisations de l'employé et de l'employeur au Régime québécois d'assurance parentale (RQAP).

Cependant, elle est assujettie, au moment où elle est versée,

De même, vous devez inclure cette somme dans le calcul de votre masse salariale totale servant à déterminer votre taux de cotisation au FSS et dans le calcul de votre masse salariale servant à déterminer votre participation au développement des compétences de la main-d'œuvre et, s'il y a lieu, votre cotisation au Fonds de développement et de reconnaissance des compétences de la main-d'œuvre (FDRCMO).

Note

Si vous versez une somme à un dépositaire ou à un fiduciaire pour un employé qui se présente au travail à l'un de vos établissements situés au Québec et à l'un de vos établissements situés à l'extérieur du Québec, et que cet employé se présente habituellement à l'un de vos établissements situés au Québec, cette somme est assujettie à la cotisation de l'employeur au FSS et à la cotisation relative aux normes du travail. Nous considérons que vous devez appliquer cette règle pour les cotisations de l'employé et de l'employeur au RRQ.

De même, vous devez inclure cette somme dans le calcul de votre masse salariale totale servant à déterminer votre taux de cotisation au FSS et dans le calcul de votre masse salariale servant à déterminer votre participation au développement des compétences de la main-d'œuvre et, s'il y a lieu, votre cotisation au FDRCMO.

Somme versée par un dépositaire ou par un fiduciaire

En général, lorsqu'un dépositaire ou un fiduciaire verse des sommes à l'un de vos employés ou de vos anciens employés, celles-ci ne sont pas assujetties aux retenues à la source ni aux cotisations de l'employeur.

Exceptions

Une somme versée par le dépositaire d'un régime de prestations aux employés (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre) est assujettie à la retenue d'impôt, sauf s'il s'agit d'un remboursement des cotisations que l'employé a versées à ce régime.

Une somme versée par un fiduciaire d'un régime d'intéressement (sauf la somme dont il est question au paragraphe suivant) est assujettie aux cotisations de l'employé et de l'employeur au RRQ seulement si elle peut raisonnablement être attribuée à une somme versée au fiduciaire avant le 13 mai 1994.

Un paiement unique effectué par un fiduciaire d'un régime d'intéressement, en règlement final de tous les droits du particulier dans le régime, est assujetti à une retenue d'impôt de 16 % (s'il est inférieur ou égal à 5 000 $) ou de 20 % (s'il est supérieur à 5 000 $) s'il doit être inclus dans le revenu du particulier pour l'année où il le reçoit.

Notes
  • Les sommes attribuées par un fiduciaire d'une fiducie pour employés (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre) ou versées par un dépositaire d'un régime de prestations aux employés doivent être déclarées sur un relevé 1 (RL-1).
  • Les sommes attribuées ou versées par un fiduciaire d'un régime d'intéressement doivent être déclarées sur un relevé 25 (RL-25).
Dernière mise à jour :