Automobile Made Available to a Partner or to a Partner's Employee

Special rules apply in calculating a benefit related to an automobile made available to a partner or to a partner's employee.

Partner

If you make an automobile available to a partner (or to a person related to a partner), calculate only the standby charge using either the appropriate formula or form TP-41.C-V, Calculation of an Automobile Benefit.

Note

The operating-costs benefit does not apply in the case of a partner.

The partnership must file an RL-1 slip (see courtesy translation RL-1-T) for the partner and include the value of the benefit in box O of the slip and enter RP in the “Code (case O)” box.

Employee of a partner

Where a partnership makes an automobile available to a partner's employee (or to a person related to the employee), it must calculate the standby charge using the appropriate formula or form TP-41.C-V, Calculation of an Automobile Benefit.

The value of the employee's operating-costs benefit (This link will open a new window) corresponds to the total amount of expenses (including taxes) related to the personal use of the automobile, which are paid by the partnership for the year. Any amount that the employee (or a person related to the employee) reimburses to the partnership is subtracted from the employee's operating-costs benefit.

The value of the operating-costs benefit must be included in boxes A and W of the employee's RL-1 slip; the standby charge must be included in box O.

For sample calculations of the value of the operating-costs benefit, see the guide Taxable Benefits (IN-253-V).

Last Updated:

Automobile mise à la disposition d'un associé ou d'un employé d'un associé

Certaines particularités s'appliquent lors du calcul de la valeur de l'avantage correspondant à une automobile mise à la disposition d'un associé ou d'un employé d'un associé.

Associé

Si vous mettez une automobile à la disposition d'un associé (ou d'une personne liée à un associé), vous devez calculer seulement la valeur du droit d'usage à l'aide de la formule appropriée ou à l'aide du formulaire Calcul de l'avantage relatif à une automobile (TP-41.C).

Note

L'avantage relatif aux frais de fonctionnement ne s'applique pas dans le cas d'un associé.

La société de personnes doit produire un relevé 1 (RL-1) pour l'associé et inclure la valeur de cet avantage à la case O du relevé 1 et inscrire le code « RP » à la case « Code (case O) ».

Employé d'un associé

Si une société de personnes met une automobile à la disposition d'un employé d'un de ses membres (ou d'une personne liée à cet employé), elle doit calculer la valeur du droit d'usage à l'aide de la formule appropriée ou à l'aide du formulaire Calcul de l'avantage relatif à une automobile (TP-41.C).

La valeur de l'avantage relatif aux frais de fonctionnement (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre) dont bénéficie cet employé correspond au total des frais (toutes taxes comprises) liés à l'utilisation de l'automobile à des fins personnelles qui sont assumés par la société de personnes pour l'année. Toute somme que cet employé (ou la personne qui lui est liée) rembourse à la société de personnes réduit d'autant la valeur de l'avantage relatif aux frais de fonctionnement qui lui est accordé.

La valeur de l'avantage relatif aux frais de fonctionnement doit être incluse aux cases A et W du relevé 1 de l'employé, et la valeur du droit d'usage, à la case O.

Pour voir des exemples de calcul de la valeur de l'avantage relatif aux frais de fonctionnement d'une automobile, consultez le guide Avantages imposables (IN-253).

Dernière mise à jour :