Benefit Related to an Automobile Made Available to an Employee

We consider that you make an automobile available to an employee where you entrust the automobile (This link will open a new window) to the care and control of the employee and authorize the employee to make personal use of the automobile or do not forbid such use.

There is no taxable benefit if the employee uses the automobile only for work, even if the vehicle is available to the employee throughout the year. A taxable benefit results if the employee uses the automobile for personal purposes (This link will open a new window), or if the automobile made available to the employee is not required for his or her job.

Source deductions and contributions

A benefit related to an automobile made available to an employee (or a person related to the employee) is subject to source deductions and employer contributions during the year. However, this benefit is not subject to Québec parental insurance plan (QPIP) premiums.

Calculation of the value of the benefit

The value of the benefit must be calculated over the course of the year and be based on estimates. You must therefore repeat the calculation at the end of the year, using the actual number of kilometres travelled during the year.

To calculate a benefit related to an automobile, use form TP-41.C-V, Calculation of an Automobile Benefit, or click Calculation of an Automobile Benefit. For sample calculations of benefits related to an automobile, see the guide Taxable Benefits (IN-253-V).

Last Updated:

Avantage correspondant à une automobile mise à la disposition d'un employé

Nous considérons que vous mettez une automobile à la disposition d'un employé si vous lui en donnez la garde et la surveillance et que vous l'autorisez à en faire un usage personnel ou ne lui interdisez pas un tel usage.

L'employé ne bénéficie pas d'un avantage imposable s'il utilise l'automobile seulement pour exercer ses fonctions, même si le véhicule est mis à sa disposition pendant l'année entière. Il bénéficie d'un avantage imposable s'il utilise l'automobile à des fins personnelles (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre) ou si une automobile est mise à sa disposition sans qu'il ait à l'utiliser pour exercer ses fonctions.

Retenues à la source et cotisations

Un avantage correspondant à une automobile mise à la disposition d'un employé (ou d'une personne qui lui est liée) est assujetti aux retenues à la source et aux cotisations de l'employeur au cours de l'année. Cependant, cet avantage n'est pas assujetti aux cotisations au Régime québécois d'assurance parentale (RQAP).

Calcul de la valeur de l'avantage

La valeur de cet avantage doit être calculée au cours de l'année et être basée sur des estimations. Vous devrez donc la calculer à nouveau à la fin de l'année, en tenant compte du nombre réel de kilomètres parcourus pendant l'année.

Pour calculer l'avantage correspondant à une automobile, utilisez le formulaire Calcul de l'avantage relatif à une automobile (TP-41.C) ou consultez la page Calcul de l'avantage relatif à une automobile. Pour voir des exemples de calcul de l'avantage correspondant à une automobile, consultez le guide Avantages imposables (IN-253).

Dernière mise à jour :