Allowance for the Use of a Motor Vehicle

An allowance received by an employee for the use of a motor vehicle (This link will open a new window) is considered reasonable, and does not have to be included on the RL-1 slip (see courtesy translation RL-1-T), if all of the following three conditions are met:

  • The measurement of the employee's use of the vehicle for the purpose of determining the allowance is based solely on the actual number of kilometres for which the vehicle is used by the employee in the performance of his or her duties.
  • The per-kilometre rate is reasonable.
  • You have not paid an allowance in addition to reimbursing the employee for some or all of the expenses related to the use of the vehicle.
Note

If the reimbursement is solely for supplementary business insurance, tolls or ferry charges not covered by the allowance, the allowance is considered reasonable, provided the previous two conditions are met.

Reasonable per-kilometre rate

As a rule, we consider that a per-kilometre rate is reasonable if it does not exceed the rate that an employer subject to income tax is authorized to deduct under Québec tax laws and regulations.

Rate of the allowance for the use of a motor vehicle (per kilometre)
Year First 5,000 kilometres Additional kilometres
2017 $0.54 $0.48
2016 $0.54 $0.48
2015 $0.55 $0.49
2014 $0.54 $0.48
2013 $0.54 $0.48
2012 $0.53 $0.47
2011 $0.52 $0.46
2010 $0.52 $0.46
Note

The type of vehicle and the driving conditions may also be taken into consideration in determining whether a given rate is reasonable. A rate that does not cover the expenses incurred by the employee is not considered reasonable.

If an allowance for the use of a motor vehicle is not reasonable, the full amount of the allowance you paid to an employee must be included in boxes A and L of the RL-1 slip. The employee may, however, claim a deduction in his or her income tax return for expenses related to the use of his or her motor vehicle, provided the requirements of the Taxation Act are met.

To claim the deduction, the employee must have you sign a copy of form TP-64.3-V, General Employment Conditions, or, in the case of a forestry worker, form TP-78-V, Employment Expenses of Forestry Workers, to certify that the general conditions of employment have been met.

Lump-sum allowance combined with a reasonable per-kilometre allowance

Where the employee receives, for the use of the same motor vehicle, both a lump-sum allowance and an allowance based on the actual number of kilometres travelled by the automobile, you must include both allowances in boxes A and L of the RL-1 slip.

Last Updated:

Allocation pour l'utilisation d'un véhicule à moteur

Vous n'avez pas à inscrire sur le relevé 1 (RL-1) d'un employé l'allocation que vous lui versez pour l'utilisation d'un véhicule à moteur (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre) si cette allocation est raisonnable, c'est-à-dire si les trois conditions suivantes sont remplies :

  • l'évaluation de l'utilisation du véhicule par l'employé pour déterminer l'allocation a été faite uniquement en fonction du nombre de kilomètres qu'il a réellement parcourus pour remplir ses fonctions;
  • le taux par kilomètre est raisonnable;
  • vous n'avez pas à la fois versé cette allocation et remboursé totalement ou partiellement l'employé pour les dépenses liées à l'utilisation du véhicule.
Note

Si le remboursement s'applique uniquement aux frais d'assurance automobile commerciale supplémentaires, aux droits de péage ou aux frais de traversier et que l'allocation ne couvre pas ces frais, cette allocation sera considérée comme raisonnable pour autant que les deux premières conditions sont remplies.

Taux par kilomètre raisonnable

En règle générale, nous considérons que le taux par kilomètre est raisonnable s'il ne dépasse pas le taux qu'un employeur assujetti à l'impôt sur le revenu est autorisé à déduire selon la législation et la réglementation fiscale québécoises.

Taux de l'allocation pour l'utilisation d'un véhicule
Année 5 000 premiers kilomètres Kilomètres additionnels
2017 0,54 $ 0,48 $
2016 0,54 $ 0,48 $
2015 0,55 $ 0,49 $
2014 0,54 $ 0,48 $
2013 0,54 $ 0,48 $
2012 0,53 $ 0,47 $
2011 0,52 $ 0,46 $
2010 0,52 $ 0,46 $
Note

Le type de véhicule et les conditions de conduite peuvent également déterminer si le taux par kilomètre est raisonnable. Un taux qui ne couvre pas les dépenses engagées par l'employé n'est pas considéré comme raisonnable.

Vous devez inclure, aux cases A et L du relevé 1 d'un employé, la totalité de l'allocation qui n'est pas raisonnable et que vous lui avez versée pour l'utilisation d'un véhicule à moteur. Cependant, si l'employé satisfait aux conditions mentionnées dans la Loi sur les impôts, il pourra demander, dans sa déclaration de revenus, une déduction pour l'utilisation de son véhicule à moteur.

Pour obtenir cette déduction, l'employé devra joindre à sa déclaration le formulaire Conditions générales d'emploi (TP-64.3) ou, s'il s'agit d'un travailleur forestier, le formulaire Dépenses d'emploi pour un travailleur forestier (TP-78), que vous devez signer pour attester qu'il a rempli les conditions générales d'emploi.

Allocation forfaitaire et allocation calculée selon un taux par kilomètre raisonnable

Si un employé reçoit à la fois, pour la même utilisation d'un véhicule à moteur, une allocation forfaitaire et une allocation calculée en fonction du kilométrage réellement parcouru, vous devez inclure le montant de ces deux allocations aux cases A et L de son relevé 1.

Dernière mise à jour :