Contributions to a Multi-Employer Insurance Plan

Source deductions and contributions

A benefit related to contributions you make to an employee's multi-employer insurance plan (This link will open a new window) is subject to source deductions of income tax. However, you must stop withholding income tax when the total of the contributions reaches the estimated reasonable amount of the taxable benefit that would be granted to the employee if he or she received coverage under this plan for the entire year.

You must, however, continue to make your employer Québec Pension Plan (QPP) contributions and employer contributions on the value of the benefit.

Note

The contributions you make to a multi-employer insurance plan are not subject to Québec parental insurance plan (QPIP) premiums.

Information to enter on RL-1 slip

If you pay contributions to the administrator of a multi-employer insurance plan (This link will open a new window) for a personal insurance plan (other than insurance for total or partial loss of income from an office or employment), enter in boxes A and P of the employee's RL-1 slip (see courtesy translation RL-1-T) the portion of the contributions (and of the related tax) applicable to the work performed by the employee during the year.

Even though multi-employer insurance plans are group insurance plans, you must not enter an amount in boxes J and L of the employee's RL-1 slip. The administrator of the plan will file an RL-22 slip (see courtesy translation RL-22-T) and include, in box A of the slip, the value of the benefit received by the employee with respect to the plans covered by boxes J and L of the RL-1 slip.

The administrator of the multi-employer insurance plan must also enter, in box B of the RL-22 slip, the value of the employee's coverage under a private health services plan. This amount is already included in box A and may be considered an expense that gives entitlement to the tax credit for medical expenses. The amount in box B of the RL-22 slip is the same as the amount in box J of the RL-1 slip.

If you are the administrator of a multi-employer insurance plan, click RL-22 Slip – Employment Income Related to Multi-Employer Insurance Plans.

Last Updated:

Cotisation versée à un régime d'assurance interentreprises

Retenues à la source et cotisations

Un avantage relatif aux cotisations que vous versez pour un employé à un régime d'assurance interentreprises (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre) est assujetti à la retenue d'impôt. Toutefois, vous devez cesser de retenir l'impôt sur ces cotisations lorsque le total de ces cotisations atteint le montant raisonnable estimatif de l'avantage imposable qui serait accordé à cet employé s'il bénéficiait d'une protection provenant du régime pour toute l'année.

Cependant, vous devez continuer à retenir les cotisations au Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ) et à verser vos cotisations d'employeur sur la valeur de cet avantage.

Note

Les cotisations versées à un régime d'assurance interentreprises ne sont pas assujetties au Régime québécois d'assurance parentale (RQAP).

Renseignements à inscrire sur le relevé 1

Si vous versez à l'administrateur d'un régime d'assurance interentreprises (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre) une cotisation pour un régime d'assurance de personnes (sauf une assurance contre la perte totale ou partielle d'un revenu de charge ou d'emploi), inscrivez aux cases A et P du relevé 1 (RL-1) de l'employé la partie de cette cotisation (et de la taxe s'y rapportant) qui s'applique au travail que cet employé a effectué dans l'année.

Même si le régime d'assurance interentreprises est un régime d'assurance collective, vous ne devez rien inscrire aux cases J et L du relevé 1. L'administrateur du régime d'assurance interentreprises doit produire un relevé 22 (RL-22) et inclure à la case A la valeur de l'avantage dont a bénéficié l'employé par rapport aux régimes visés aux cases J et L du relevé 1.

Il doit également inscrire à la case B du relevé 22 la valeur de la protection provenant d'un régime privé d'assurance maladie dont l'employé a bénéficié. Ce montant est déjà inclus dans celui de la case A et peut être considéré comme des frais médicaux pouvant donner droit à un crédit d'impôt pour frais médicaux. Le montant de la case B du relevé 22 équivaut à celui de la case J du relevé 1.

Consultez la page Relevé 22 – Revenu d'emploi lié à un régime d'assurance interentreprises si vous administrez un régime d'assurance interentreprises.

Dernière mise à jour :