RRSP Contributions Made by the Employer (Other Than Contributions Withheld from the Employee's Salary and Wages)

Source deductions and contributions

If you pay an amount to the issuer of a registered retirement savings plan (RRSP) of which your employee or his or her spouse is the annuitant, this amount constitutes a taxable benefit for the employee. 

You are not required to withhold income tax on this amount if you remit it directly to the RRSP's issuer. However, the amount is subject to employee and employer Québec Pension Plan (QPP) contributions, the employer contribution to the health services fund and the contribution related to labour standards. Also, you must include the amount in your total payroll used to determine your health services fund contribution rate, your participation in workforce skills development and, if applicable, your contribution to the Workforce Skills Development and Recognition Fund (WSDRF). 

In addition, the contributions you make to an employee's individual RRSP are subject to employee and employer Québec parental insurance plan (QPIP) premiums. However, the contributions you make to a group RRSP are not subject to employee and employer QPIP premiums if the employee cannot withdraw amounts before his or her retirement or termination of employment or if the employee can withdraw amounts under the Home Buyers' Plan (HBP) or the Lifelong Learning Plan (LLP).  

Note

A benefit from an amount that you have paid to acquire, on an employee's behalf, a share in a labour-sponsored fund is not subject to these contributions.

Information to enter on RL-1 slip

Since the contributions you make to a RRSP of which your employee or his or her spouse is the annuitant, as well as the related administrative costs you pay, constitute a taxable benefit, provided the amounts were not withheld from the employee's remuneration, you must include such amounts in boxes A and L of the employee's RL-1 slip (see courtesy translation RL-1-T).

Last Updated:

Cotisation versée par l'employeur à un REER (sauf une somme retenue sur le salaire)

Retenues à la source et cotisations

Si vous versez une somme à l'émetteur d'un régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER) dont un employé ou son conjoint est le rentier, cette somme est considérée comme un avantage imposable pour l'employé.

Vous n'avez pas à retenir d'impôt sur cette somme si vous la transmettez directement à l'émetteur du REER. Cependant, elle est assujettie aux cotisations de l'employé et de l'employeur au Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ), à la cotisation de l'employeur au Fonds des services de santé (FSS) et à la cotisation relative aux normes du travail. De même, cette somme entre dans le calcul de votre masse salariale totale servant à déterminer votre taux de cotisation au FSS et dans le calcul de votre masse salariale servant à déterminer votre participation au développement des compétences de la main-d'œuvre et, s'il y a lieu, votre cotisation au Fonds de développement et de reconnaissance des compétences de la main-d'œuvre (FDRCMO).

De plus, si cette somme est versée à un REER individuel de l'employé, elle est assujettie aux cotisations de l'employé et de l'employeur au Régime québécois d'assurance parentale (RQAP). Si, par contre, cette somme est versée à un REER collectif, elle n'est pas assujettie aux cotisations de l'employé et de l'employeur au RQAP si l'employé ne peut pas retirer de fonds avant de prendre sa retraite ou de cesser son emploi, ou s'il est permis à l'employé de retirer des fonds du REER dans le cadre du Régime d'accession à la propriété (RAP) ou du Régime d'encouragement à l'éducation permanente (REEP).

Note

Un avantage provenant d'une somme que vous avez versée, au bénéfice de l'employé, pour l'acquisition d'actions d'un fonds de travailleurs n'est pas assujetti à ces cotisations.

Renseignements à inscrire sur le relevé 1

Comme la somme que vous versez à un REER dont un employé ou son conjoint est le rentier ainsi que les frais administratifs afférents que vous payez et qui ne sont pas retenus sur la rémunération de cet employé constituent un avantage imposable, vous devez les inclure aux cases A et L du relevé 1 (RL-1) de cet employé.

Dernière mise à jour :