Security Options

Important

This page does not cover the new measures pertaining to source deductions of income tax announced on February 21, 2017, by the ministère des Finances in Information Bulletin 2017-3. For more information, read the tax news article entitled Increase of the Security Option Deduction.

Security option that is a share of its capital stock

If a corporation grants a security option that is a share of its capital stock (including a share of a corporation not dealing at arm's length with the corporation) to an employee or to the employee of a corporation not dealing at arm's length with the corporation, and the corporation grants this option under an agreement that allows the employee to acquire such a security, there is no taxable benefit for the employee at the time the option is granted.

Security option that is a mutual fund unit 

Similarly, if a mutual fund trust grants a security option that is a mutual fund unit (including a mutual fund unit of a mutual fund trust with which it is not dealing at arm's length) to an employee (or to the employee of a mutual fund trust with which it is not dealing at arm's length), and the trust grants this option under an agreement that allows the employee to acquire such a security, there is no taxable benefit for the employee at the time the option is granted.

As a rule, the employee receives a taxable benefit in the taxation year in which he or she acquires the security covered by the option, unless the security is a share of a Canadian-controlled private corporation (CCPC).

Source deductions and contributions

A benefit resulting from the exercise of a security option is subject to source deductions of income tax (see the notes below), employee and employer Québec Pension Plan (QPP) contributions, the employer contribution to the health services fund and the contribution related to labour standards

  • in the year the security was disposed, if the security is a share of a CCPC; 
  • in the year the security is acquired, in all other cases. 

You must include the value of the benefit in your total payroll used to determine your health services fund contribution rate, your participation in workforce skills development and, if applicable, your contribution to the Workforce Skills Development and Recognition Fund (WSDRF).

Such a benefit is a benefit in kind and is not subject to employee and employer Québec parental insurance plan (QPIP) premiums. 

Special rules concerning source deductions of income tax

A taxable benefit related to the acquisition of a security that is a share of a corporation, other than a share of a CCPC or a mutual fund unit, is subject to source deductions of income tax in the year the security is acquired as if it were remuneration paid as a gratuity. However, for the purpose of source deductions of income tax only, if the conditions giving entitlement to the security option deduction are met (see Deduction for Canadian Controlled Private Corporation Stock Options and Deduction for Stock Options of a Corporation Other than a Canadian Controlled Private Corporation or Options to Purchase Mutual Fund Units), the value of the benefit subject to a source deduction can be reduced by 25 % of the value of the benefit (or by 50 % of the value, if the benefit was deemed received for a stock option of a small or medium sized business (SMB) engaged in innovative activities). 

Notes
  • If you did not pay the employee any sum in cash or by cheque for the pay period in which the benefit is provided, you do not have to withhold income tax on the value of the benefit. 
  • If you paid the employee a sum for the pay period in which the benefit is provided that does not cover the total source deductions of income tax, you have to withhold income tax on the value of the benefit, up to the amount of the sum paid, even if the total sum must be withheld. In such circumstances, the employee cannot request a reduction in source deductions of income tax using the form Application for a reduction in source deductions of income tax (TP-1016-V). Accordingly, you cannot reduce the employee's source deductions of income tax.

Calculating a security option benefit 

The value of the benefit received by the employee is equal to

  • the FMV of the security at the time of acquisition or the value of the consideration received (in cash or in kind) at the time the employee transfers to you his or her rights, as applicable;

minus

  • the total of
    • the amount paid or payable by the employee to acquire the security, and
    • the amount paid by the employee for the option.

You must also calculate the amount of the security option deduction, unless the value of the benefit is included in the income used to calculate the deduction granted to the following persons:

  • a Québec sailor working for an eligible shipowner;
  • a foreign specialist working at an IFC;
  • a foreign researcher, foreign researcher on a post-doctoral internship or foreign expert working for a business carrying out research in Québec;
  • a foreign professor working for a university in Québec;
  • a foreign specialist working at a BDC;
  • a foreign specialist working for a stock exchange business or a securities clearing-house business;
  • a foreign specialist working for a financial services corporation;
  • a foreign farm worker; or
  • a worker holding a key position in a foreign production.

To calculate the security option deduction, see Deduction for Canadian-Controlled Private Corporation (CCPC) Stock Options and Deduction for Stock Options of a Corporation Other than a Canadian-Controlled Private Corporation or Options to Purchase Mutual Fund Units.

Information to enter on the RL-1 slip

You must include the value of the benefit in boxes A and L of the RL-1 slip of the employee in the year in which the employee sells or acquires the security, as applicable. The corporation that provides the benefit is responsible for including the value of the benefit in boxes A and L of the RL-1 slip of the employee that it files for the year the employee receives the benefit. 

Note

This section does not cover the tax treatment of

  • exchanges, sales and transfers of security options;
  • the sale or exchange of CCPC shares that an employee acquired before May 23, 1985, under an agreement reached after April 23, 1985;
  • the sale or exchange of shares (acquired further to the exercise of a stock option) in the course of a reorganization or recapitalization of the corporation; or
  • the replacement of a stock option plan.

For more information, contact us.

Last Updated:

Option d'achat de titres

Avertissement

Cette page ne traite pas des nouvelles mesures relatives à la retenue d'impôt annoncées dans le bulletin d'information 2017-3 du ministère des Finances, paru le 21 février 2017. Pour plus de renseignements, consultez la nouvelle fiscale Bonification de la déduction pour option d'achat de titres.

Option d'achat d'un titre qui est une action de capital-actions

Si une société accorde une option d'achat d'un titre qui est une action de son capital-actions (y compris une action d'une société avec laquelle la société a un lien de dépendance) à un employé ou à l'employé d'une société avec laquelle la société a un lien de dépendance, et qu'elle accorde cette option selon une convention qui permet à l'employé d'acquérir un tel titre, cet employé ne bénéficie pas d'un avantage imposable au moment où cette option d'achat lui est accordée.

Option d'achat d'un titre qui est une unité de fonds commun de placement

Si une fiducie de fonds commun de placement accorde une option d'achat d'un de ses titres qui est une unité de fonds commun de placement (y compris une unité de fonds commun de placement d'une fiducie de fonds commun de placement avec laquelle elle a un lien de dépendance) à un employé ou à l'employé d'une fiducie de fonds commun de placement avec laquelle elle a un lien de dépendance, et qu'elle accorde cette option selon une convention qui permet à l'employé d'acquérir un tel titre, cet employé ne bénéficie pas d'un avantage imposable au moment où cette option d'achat lui est accordée.

En règle générale, l'employé bénéficie plutôt d'un avantage imposable dans l'année d'imposition où il acquiert le titre visé par l'option d'achat, sauf s'il s'agit d'un titre qui est une action d'une société privée sous contrôle canadien (SPCC).

Retenues à la source et cotisations

Un avantage qui résulte de l'exercice d'une option d'achat de titres est assujetti à la retenue d'impôt (voyez les notes ci-après), aux cotisations de l'employé et de l'employeur au Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ), à la cotisation de l'employeur au Fonds des services de santé (FSS) et à la cotisation relative aux normes du travail

  • dans l'année de l'aliénation du titre, dans le cas d'une option d'achat d'actions d'une SPCC;
  • dans l'année d'acquisition du titre, dans les autres cas.

Vous devez inclure la valeur de cet avantage dans le calcul de votre masse salariale totale servant à déterminer votre taux de cotisation au FSS et dans le calcul de votre masse salariale servant à déterminer votre participation au développement des compétences de la main-d'œuvre et, s'il y a lieu, votre cotisation au Fonds de développement et de reconnaissance des compétences de la main-d'œuvre (FDRCMO).

Cet avantage constitue un avantage en nature qui n'est pas assujetti aux cotisations au Régime québécois d'assurance parentale (RQAP).

Particularités concernant la retenue d'impôt

Si l'avantage résulte de l'acquisition d'un titre qui est une action d'une société, autre qu'une SPCC ou une unité de fonds commun de placement, cet avantage est assujetti à la retenue d'impôt dans l'année de l'acquisition du titre comme s'il s'agissait d'une rémunération versée à titre de gratification. Cependant, aux fins de la retenue d'impôt uniquement, si les exigences concernant la déduction pour une option d'achat de titres sont respectées (voyez les pages Déduction pour option d'achat d'actions d'une SPCC et Déduction pour option d'achat d'actions d'une société, autre qu'une SPCC, ou pour option d'achat d'unités de fonds commun de placement), la valeur de l'avantage assujetti à la retenue d'impôt peut être réduite de 25 %, ou de 50 % dans le cas d'un avantage réputé reçu pour une option d'achat d'actions d'une petite ou moyenne entreprise (PME) poursuivant des activités innovantes.

Notes
  • Si aucune somme n'est versée en argent ou par chèque à l'employé pour la période de paie durant laquelle l'avantage est accordé, vous n'avez aucune retenue d'impôt à effectuer sur la valeur de cet avantage.
  • Si une somme est versée à l'employé pour la période de paie durant laquelle l'avantage est accordé et que cette somme est insuffisante pour couvrir la totalité de la retenue d'impôt, vous devez retenir de l'impôt sur la valeur de cet avantage, jusqu'à concurrence de la somme versée, et ce, même si la totalité de la somme versée doit être retenue. Dans ces circonstances, l'employé ne peut pas demander de réduction de sa retenue d'impôt à l'aide du formulaire Demande de réduction de la retenue d'impôt (TP-1016). Par conséquent, vous ne pouvez pas réduire la retenue d'impôt de l'employé.

Calcul de l'avantage pour une option d'achat de titres

La valeur de l'avantage dont bénéficie l'employé est égale au résultat du calcul suivant :

  • la JVM du titre au moment où l'employé acquiert le titre ou la valeur de la contrepartie reçue (en argent ou en nature) au moment où l'employé vous cède ses droits, le cas échéant;

moins

  • le total des sommes suivantes :
    • la somme payée (ou à payer) par l'employé pour acquérir le titre,
    • la somme qu'il a payée pour obtenir l'option d'achat.

Vous devez également calculer le montant de la déduction pour option d'achat de titres, sauf si la valeur de l'avantage est incluse dans le revenu servant à calculer la déduction accordée à l'une des personnes suivantes :

  • un marin québécois travaillant pour un armateur admissible;
  • un spécialiste étranger travaillant dans un centre financier international (CFI);
  • un chercheur étranger, un chercheur étranger en stage postdoctoral ou un expert étranger travaillant pour une entreprise effectuant de la recherche au Québec;
  • un professeur étranger travaillant pour une université québécoise;
  • un spécialiste étranger travaillant dans un centre de développement des biotechnologies (CDB);
  • un spécialiste étranger travaillant pour une entreprise de bourse de valeurs ou de chambre de compensation de valeurs;
  • un spécialiste étranger travaillant pour une société de services financiers;
  • un travailleur agricole étranger;
  • un travailleur occupant un poste clé dans une production étrangère.

Pour calculer la déduction pour option d'achat de titres, voyez les pages Déduction pour option d'achat d'actions d'une SPCC et Déduction pour option d'achat d'actions d'une société, autre qu'une SPCC, ou pour option d'achat d'unités de fonds commun de placement.

Renseignements à inscrire sur le relevé 1

Vous devez inclure la valeur de l'avantage aux cases A et L du relevé 1 de l'employé dans l'année où il vend ou acquiert le titre, selon le cas. La société qui confère l'avantage a la responsabilité d'inclure la valeur de cet avantage aux cases A et L du relevé 1 qu'elle produit pour l'employé pour l'année où il reçoit l'avantage.

Note

Cette sous-section ne traite pas des incidences fiscales relatives aux sujets suivants :

  • les échanges, les ventes et les cessions d'options d'achat;
  • la vente ou l'échange d'une action d'une SPCC qu'un employé a acquise avant le 23 mai 1985 selon une convention conclue après le 23 avril 1985;
  • la vente ou l'échange d'une action (acquise à la suite de l'exercice d'une option d'achat) dans le cadre d'une réorganisation de la société ou d'une restructuration de capital;
  • le remplacement d'un régime d'options d'achat.

Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires, communiquez avec nous.

Dernière mise à jour :