Wage Loss Replacement Benefits

As a rule, wage loss replacement benefits are benefits paid in the following circumstances:

  • They are paid to a beneficiary by an insurer under a wage loss replacement plan (health insurance, accident insurance, disability insurance or income insurance) to compensate for the loss of all or part of a beneficiary's employment income.
  • The beneficiary is an employee of the employer that contributed to the insurance plan.
Note

If you are not an insurer and you pay amounts to one of your employees to compensate for the loss of all or part of his or her employment income, these amounts are generally considered to be employment income.

They are considered to be wage loss replacement benefits, however, if the plan is based on insurance principles, that is, if the funds are accumulated, usually in the hands of a trustee or in a trust account, and are sufficient to guarantee the payment of potential claims. For more information, consult the most recent version of interpretation bulletin IMP. 43-1 on the Publications du Québec website, or contact us.

As a rule, any amounts paid by a third party under an Administrative Services Only (ASO) contract that does not meet insurance principles are considered to be employment income.

Source deductions of income tax

Wage loss replacement benefits are subject to source deductions of income tax.

Québec Pension Plan (QPP) contributions

Wage loss replacement benefits are not subject to employee and employer QPP contributions when paid by an insurer. All the same, wage loss replacement benefits constitute pensionable salary or wages for the beneficiary. Consequently, a beneficiary who has not already made the maximum QPP contribution for the current year may make an optional QPP contribution on the benefits when filing his or her income tax return (line 445).

Québec parental insurance plan (QPIP) premiums

Wage loss replacement benefits are not subject to employee and employer Québec parental insurance plan (QPIP) premiums unless:

  • the employer pays the benefits directly to an employee under a plan funded in part by the employer
  • an employee receives benefits from a third party under a plan funded in part by the employer and in respect of which the employer controls certain terms and conditions or determines eligibility for benefits

Other employer contributions

Wage loss replacement benefits paid by an insurer are not subject to the employer contributions to the health services fund, the contribution related to labour standards or the contribution to the Workforce Skills Development and Recognition Fund (WSDRF).

Last Updated:

Prestation d'assurance salaire

En règle générale, on entend par prestations d'assurance salaire les prestations versées dans les circonstances suivantes :

  • elles sont versées par un assureur à un bénéficiaire, dans le cadre d'un régime d'assurance salaire (d'assurance maladie, d'assurance accidents, d'assurance invalidité ou d'assurance revenu), pour la perte totale ou partielle de son revenu d'emploi;
  • l'employeur du bénéficiaire a cotisé au régime souscrit auprès de l'assureur.
Note

Si vous n'êtes pas un assureur et que vous versez des sommes à l'un de vos employés en raison de la perte totale ou partielle de son revenu d'emploi, ces sommes sont généralement considérées comme un revenu d'emploi.

Toutefois, ces sommes sont considérées comme des prestations d'assurance salaire si le régime est établi sur les principes d'une assurance, c'est-à-dire si les fonds sont accumulés normalement entre les mains d'un fiduciaire ou dans un compte en fiducie et qu'ils sont suffisants pour garantir le paiement des réclamations éventuelles. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, consultez la version en vigueur du bulletin d'interprétation IMP.43-1 dans le site Internet des Publications du Québec ou communiquez avec nous.

En règle générale, les sommes versées par un tiers en vertu d'un contrat de services administratifs seulement (SAS) qui ne satisfait pas aux principes d'une assurance sont généralement considérées comme un revenu d'emploi.

Retenue d'impôt

Les prestations d'assurance salaire sont assujetties à la retenue d'impôt.

Cotisations au Régime de rentes du Québec

Les prestations d'assurance salaire ne sont pas assujetties aux cotisations de l'employé et de l'employeur au Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ) lorsqu'elles sont versées par un assureur. Malgré cela, une telle prestation représente un salaire admissible au RRQ pour le bénéficiaire. Par conséquent, si ce bénéficiaire n'atteint pas sa cotisation maximale au RRQ pour l'année en cours, il pourra verser une cotisation facultative au RRQ sur cette prestation lors de la production de sa déclaration de revenus (ligne 445).

Cotisations au Régime québécois d'assurance parentale

Les prestations d'assurance salaire ne sont pas assujetties aux cotisations de l'employé et de l'employeur au Régime québécois d'assurance parentale (RQAP), sauf

  • les prestations que vous versez directement à l'un de vos employés selon un régime que vous financez en partie;
  • les prestations qu'un employé reçoit d'un tiers selon un régime que l'employeur finance en partie, et dont il contrôle certaines modalités et détermine l'admissibilité aux prestations.

Autres cotisations de l'employeur

Les prestations d'assurance salaire versées par un assureur ne sont pas assujetties à la cotisation de l'employeur au Fonds des services de santé (FSS), à la cotisation relative aux normes du travail ni à la cotisation au Fonds de développement et de reconnaissance des compétences de la main-d'œuvre (FDRCMO).

Dernière mise à jour :