Employee on Phased Retirement

Québec Pension Plan (QPP) contributions

An employee who is at least 55 years of age but under 70 years of age and reduces his or her working time by taking phased retirement may, if certain conditions are met, make an agreement with you to have all or part of the amount of the reduction in the employee's salary or wages be deemed, for the purposes of determining the QPP contribution, to have been paid to the employee.

The agreement entered into by you and the employee must be formalized using the form prescribed by Retraite Québec and is valid only if approved by Retraite Québec. Payment of an additional QPP contribution resulting from the agreement is shared equally by you and the employee. For more information on the conditions that must be met in order to enter into such an agreement, contact Retraite Québec.

Pensionable salary or wages

The amount referred to in the agreement is considered to be a pensionable salary or wages paid to the employee at the frequency provided for in the agreement. Consequently, in order to calculate the QPP contribution for a pay period, you must add to the employee's salary or wages the corresponding portion of the amount referred to in the agreement.

Note

You must enter the salary or wages deemed to have been paid to the employee in box U ("Retraite progressive," that is, phased retirement) of the employee's RL-1 slip for the purposes of calculating an additional QPP contribution.

Example of how to calculate the QPP contribution of an employee on phased retirement

You sign a phased retirement agreement with an employee whose annual salary is $36,000. Under the agreement, the employee's normal work week is reduced by 20%. The agreement provides that $7,200 (20% of $36,000) will be considered a pensionable salary that you pay during the year at weekly intervals. The employee's deemed income is therefore $138.46 per week ($7,200 ÷ 52 weeks).

The QPP contribution to be withheld for each weekly pay period is calculated on a salary of $692.31, that is, the salary actually earned by the employee plus the employee's deemed salary or wages [($36,000 − $7,200) ÷ 52] + $138.46.

Last Updated:

Employé en retraite progressive

Cotisations au Régime de rentes du Québec

Si un employé est âgé de 55 ans ou plus mais de moins de 70 ans et qu'il effectue moins d'heures de travail en raison d'une retraite progressive, il peut, à certaines conditions, convenir avec vous qu'une partie ou la totalité de la somme dont son salaire est réduit soit présumée lui avoir été versée, pour le calcul de sa cotisation au Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ).

L'entente conclue avec l'employé doit être officialisée à l'aide du formulaire établi par Retraite Québec et elle est valide uniquement si elle est approuvée par celle-ci. L'employé et vous devez partager en parts égales le paiement d'une cotisation supplémentaire au RRQ résultant de cette entente. Pour plus de renseignements sur les conditions à remplir pour qu'une telle entente puisse être conclue, communiquez avec Retraite Québec.

Salaire admissible

La somme qui fait l'objet de l'entente est considérée comme un salaire admissible versé à l'employé, selon la fréquence prévue dans l'entente. Par conséquent, pour calculer la cotisation au RRQ pour une période de paie, vous devez ajouter au salaire de l'employé la partie de cette somme qui se rapporte à cette période de paie.

Note

Vous devez inscrire le salaire présumé versé à l'employé à la case U (« Retraite progressive ») de son relevé 1 pour permettre le calcul d'une cotisation supplémentaire au RRQ.

Exemple de calcul de la cotisation au RRQ d'un employé en retraite progressive

Un employé conclut avec son employeur une entente de retraite progressive. Ainsi, le temps de travail de l'employé est réduit de 20 %. Le salaire annuel de l'employé est de 36 000 $. L'entente prévoit qu'une somme de 7 200 $ (20 % × 36 000 $) sera considérée comme un salaire admissible que l'employeur versera au cours de l'année selon une fréquence hebdomadaire. Le salaire hebdomadaire présumé est donc de 138,46 $, soit 7 200 $ ÷ 52 semaines.

Pour chaque période de paie, l'employeur doit retenir la cotisation au RRQ sur un salaire de 692,31 $, soit le salaire réellement gagné plus le salaire présumé :

[(36 000 $7 200 $) ÷ 52] + 138,46 $.

Dernière mise à jour :