Employee Not Resident in Québec

You must make source deductions and pay employer contributions with respect to the salary or wages paid to an employee who is not resident in Québec if one or more of the basic conditions are met. However, special rules may apply in some cases.

If you make a payment, other than in the course of regular and continuous employment, to a person (including a corporation) not resident in Canada for services the person provided to you in Québec, see Payments Made to Persons Not Resident in Canada That Perform Services for You in Québec.

Source deductions of income tax

You are not required to withhold income tax from the salary or wages (or a portion thereof) that you pay to any of the following:

If an individual is not resident in Canada in the year or becomes a resident during the year, the deductions and personal tax credits that the individual can enter on the Source Deductions Return (form TP-1015.3-V) may be limited. For more information. see Source Deductions Return.

Note

You must withhold income tax from the salary or wages paid to an employee who is not resident in Canada and who does not hold employment in Canada in the following cases:

  • The salary or wages are reasonably attributable to employment duties that are or will be performed in Québec by the employee.
  • The employee ceased to reside in Québec in the year or in a previous year, in which case you are not required to withhold income tax if the salary or wages are subject to income tax in a country other than Canada or if the salary or wages are paid with respect to the sale of goods, the negotiation of contracts or the provision of services for you, one of your foreign affiliates or another person with whom you are not dealing at arm's length, in the course of a business carried on by you, the foreign affiliate or that other person.

Québec Pension Plan contributions and the contribution to the health services fund

If a foreign employee whose country of origin has a social security agreement with Québec is temporarily posted to Québec, the employee's salary or wages are generally not subject to:

  • employee and employer Québec Pension Plan contributions;
  • the employer contribution to the health services fund.

Québec parental insurance plan premiums

As a rule, an employee who is not resident in Québec at the end of the year is not required to pay Québec parental insurance plan (QPIP) premiums. Nevertheless, if you pay eligible salary or wages to an employee who is not resident in Québec, you must withhold and pay QPIP premiums respecting the salary or wages if one or more of the basic conditions are met. However, special rules may apply.

Under the Taxation Act, an individual who is not resident in Québec but who spends more than 182 days in Québec in a year is deemed to be resident in Québec for the entire year. However, this rule does not apply for the purposes of the Act respecting parental insurance. Therefore, since such an individual is not considered to be resident in Québec, he or she is not required to pay QPIP premiums.

Nevertheless, if you pay such an employee eligible salary or wages, you must withhold and pay QPIP premiums.

Note

If the employee is not resident in Québec at the end of the year and his or her income is also subject to Employment Insurance, the employee may receive a refund of the excess contributions when filing his or her federal income tax return.

Last Updated:

Employé ou personne qui ne réside pas au Québec

Vous devez effectuer des retenues à la source et payer vos cotisations d'employeur sur le salaire versé à un employé qui ne réside pas au Québec si l'une des conditions de base est remplie. Toutefois, certaines particularités peuvent s'appliquer.

Si vous effectuez un paiement, autrement que dans le cours d'un emploi régulier et continu, à une personne (y compris une société) qui ne réside pas au Canada pour des services qu'elle vous a rendus au Québec, consultez la page Personne qui ne réside pas au Canada et qui vous rend des services au Québec.

Retenue d'impôt

Vous n'avez pas à retenir d'impôt sur le salaire (ou sur une partie du salaire) que vous versez aux personnes suivantes :

Les déductions et les crédits d'impôt personnels qui figurent sur le formulaire Déclaration pour la retenue d'impôt (TP-1015.3) peuvent être limités lorsqu'un particulier n'est pas résident du Canada dans l'année ou s'il devient résident du Canada durant l'année. Voyez la page Déclaration pour la retenue d'impôt pour plus de renseignements.

Note

Vous devez retenir de l'impôt sur le salaire versé à un employé qui ne réside pas au Canada et qui n'y occupe pas un emploi dans les cas suivants :

  • le salaire est raisonnablement attribuable aux fonctions d'un emploi que l'employé exerce ou exercera au Québec;
  • l'employé a cessé de résider au Québec dans l'année ou dans une année passée (dans ce dernier cas, vous n'avez pas à retenir d'impôt si le salaire est assujetti à l'impôt d'un pays autre que le Canada ou si son salaire est versé relativement à la vente de biens, à la négociation de contrats ou à la prestation de services pour vous, pour l'une de vos filiales étrangères ou pour une autre personne avec qui vous avez un lien de dépendance, dans le cours des activités d'une entreprise que vous, cette filiale ou cette personne exploitez).

Cotisations au Régime de rentes du Québec et au Fonds des services de santé

Lorsqu'un employé étranger vient travailler temporairement au Québec et que son pays d'origine a conclu une entente en matière de sécurité sociale avec le Québec, son salaire n'est généralement pas assujetti

  • aux cotisations de l'employé et de l'employeur au Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ);
  • à la cotisation de l'employeur au Fonds des services de santé (FSS).

Cotisations au Régime québécois d'assurance parentale

De façon générale, un employé qui n'est pas résident du Québec à la fin de l'année n'a pas à payer de cotisation au Régime québécois d'assurance parentale (RQAP). Malgré cela, si vous versez un salaire admissible au RQAP à un employé qui ne réside pas au Québec, vous devez tout de même retenir et payer les cotisations au RQAP sur ce salaire admissible si l'une des conditions de base est remplie. Toutefois, certaines particularités peuvent s'appliquer.

De plus, même si, selon la Loi sur les impôts, un particulier qui ne réside pas au Québec mais y séjourne plus de 182 jours au cours d'une année est réputé y résider toute l'année, cette présomption ne s'applique pas pour la Loi sur l'assurance parentale. Pour cette raison, un tel particulier n'a pas à payer de cotisation au RQAP (puisqu'il n'est pas considéré comme un résident du Québec).

Malgré cela, si vous versez un salaire admissible à un tel employé, vous devez tout de même retenir et payer les cotisations au RQAP sur ce salaire admissible.

Note

Si l'employé ne réside pas au Québec à la fin de l'année et que son revenu est également assujetti à l'assurance emploi, il pourrait obtenir le remboursement d'un excédent de cotisation lors de la production de sa déclaration de revenus fédérale.

Dernière mise à jour :