Payments Made to Persons Not Resident in Canada That Perform Services for You in Québec

Source deductions of income tax

If you make a payment, other than in the course of regular and continuous employment, to a person (including a corporation) that is not resident in Canada for services the person performed for you in Québec, you must withhold 9% income tax from the payment. This does not apply to payments made:

  • to a person in the course of regular and continuous employment;
  • to a non-resident corporation that is authorized to operate a business in Canada under the Insurance Companies Act;
  • to an authorized foreign bank for its Canadian banking business.
Note

If the person performing the services in Québec is an individual who holds a certificate from the Société de développement des entreprises culturelles (SODEC) attesting that he or she works during the year as a foreign producer or as a foreign individual holding a decision-making or key position in a foreign production filmed in Québec and recognized by SODEC, you are not required to withhold income tax from the amounts (including salary or wages) that you pay to him or her with regard to the film production.

Due dates

You must remit the income tax withheld from this payment no later than the 15th day of the month following the month in which the payment was made, if your remittance frequency is monthly, twice-monthly or weekly. If your remittance frequency is quarterly or annual, then your usual payment deadline applies.

If you are required to withhold 9% income tax from a payment but fail to do so, you become a debtor of the State for the total amount that should have been withheld and you are liable to a penalty equal to 15% of that amount. However, you may recover the amount that should have been withheld from the person that received the payment, either by bringing an action in a court of competent jurisdiction or by deducting the amount from any amount that you are required to pay or credit to the person.

Other contributions

If the person to whom you make a payment is an employee, the payment may be subject to:

The payment may also be subject to the employer contribution to the health services fund.

Last Updated:

Paiement fait à une personne qui ne réside pas au Canada et qui vous rend des services au Québec

Retenue d'impôt

Si vous effectuez un paiement, autrement que dans le cours d'un emploi régulier et continu, à une personne (y compris une société) qui ne réside pas au Canada pour des services qu'elle vous a rendus au Québec (par exemple, un administrateur à qui vous versez uniquement des jetons de présence), vous devez retenir 9 % d'impôt sur ce paiement. Cela ne s'applique pas aux paiements effectués

  • à une personne dans le cours d'un emploi régulier et continu;
  • à une société non résidente autorisée à exploiter une entreprise au Canada sous le régime de la Loi sur les sociétés d'assurances;
  • à une banque étrangère autorisée pour son entreprise bancaire canadienne.
Notes
  • Dans le paragraphe ci-dessus, le terme emploi ne comprend pas une charge.
  • Si la personne qui vous rend des services au Québec est un particulier qui détient un certificat de la Société de développement des entreprises culturelles (SODEC) attestant qu'elle travaille pendant l'année comme producteur étranger ou comme particulier étranger occupant un poste décisionnel ou un poste clé dans une production étrangère tournée au Québec et reconnue par la SODEC, vous n'avez pas à retenir d'impôt sur les sommes (y compris un salaire) que vous versez à cette personne relativement à cette production.

Délai de paiement

Vous devez nous remettre l'impôt retenu sur ce paiement au plus tard le 15 du mois suivant le paiement si votre fréquence de paiement est mensuelle, bimensuelle ou hebdomadaire. Si votre fréquence de paiement est trimestrielle ou annuelle, vous devez nous remettre l'impôt selon votre délai de paiement habituel.

Si vous devez faire une retenue d'impôt de 9 % sur un paiement et que vous ne la faites pas, vous devenez débiteur envers l'État de la totalité de cette retenue en plus d'encourir une pénalité équivalant à 15 % de cette somme. Cependant, vous pouvez recouvrer cette retenue auprès de la personne qui a reçu le paiement soit en intentant une action devant un tribunal compétent, soit en prélevant cette retenue sur toute somme que vous devez à cette personne ou que vous portez à son crédit.

Autres cotisations

Si la personne à qui vous faites le paiement est un employé, ce paiement peut être assujetti

Il peut également être assujetti à la cotisation de l'employeur au Fonds des services de santé (FSS).

Dernière mise à jour :