Employee Temporarily Posted to a Country That Has a Social Security Agreement with Québec

Québec Pension Plan (QPP) contributions

If you have an employee from Québec temporarily posted outside Canada or a foreign employee temporarily posted in Québec, you must take into account the information on this page when calculating QPP contributions.

Social security agreements

Under the social security agreements entered into by Québec and various countries, persons who are temporarily posted to a foreign country can continue to pay contributions in their country of origin and avoid having to also pay contributions in the country to which they are posted. The agreements apply to employees who work outside Canada temporarily and to employees who come to Québec temporarily to work.

Québec employee temporarily posted to a foreign country

If you have temporarily posted an employee to a country that has entered into a social security agreement with Québec, you are required under certain conditions to remit employee and employer QPP contributions to us.

Foreign employee temporarily posted to Québec

You are not required (under certain conditions) to withhold or pay QPP contributions on the salaries or wages paid to employees who are not resident in Canada and who are temporarily posted to Québec by an employer situated in a country that has entered into a social security agreement with Québec.

Social security agreements are in effect between Québec and the following countries:

  • Austria
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Chile
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Morocco
  • the Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Philippines
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Saint Lucia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • the United States
  • Uruguay
Note

New agreements could take effect during the year. For more information, visit the Retraite Québec website.

To benefit from these social security agreements, you must obtain a certificate of coverage.

To do so, contact Retraite Québec's Bureau des ententes de sécurité sociale at one of the following numbers:

  • 514 866-7332, extension 7801
  • 1 800 565-7878, extension 7801 (toll-free)

Contribution to the health services fund

Québec employee temporarily posted outside Canada

If you are a Québec employer, and you posted an employee to a country that has a social security agreement with Québec providing for reciprocal coverage of health insurance plans, you must pay the employer contribution to the health services fund on the salary or wages paid to the employee.

Under such an agreement, the employee is subject only to the Québec legislation to which reciprocity applies and is deemed to report for work at your Québec establishment.

Currently, Québec has an agreement with the following countries:

  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Luxembourg
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Sweden
Note

Negotiations are under way with other countries, and new agreements could take effect during the year.

If you did not pay the employee's salary or wages for the period in which the employee was posted outside Canada in a given year, the following rules apply:

  • The employee must inform you in writing, by March 1 of the year following the year the employee was posted outside Canada, of the salary or wages that the employee was paid for the period.
  • You must include the salary or wages in your remuneration subject to the contribution to the health services fund and in your total payroll for that year, because you are deemed to have paid the salary or wages to the employee on March 1 of the year following the year in which they were paid.

Foreign employee temporarily posted to Québec

You are not required to pay the employer contribution to the health services fund respecting salaries or wages that you pay to employees who are not resident in Canada and who are temporarily posted to Québec by an employer outside Canada, provided the country concerned has a social security agreement with Québec.

Note

An employer that is the Québec government or one of its mandataries may be required to pay, in addition to a contribution to the health services fund, a payroll tax under a statute of another government when one of its employees is posted to an office outside Québec (for example, to the Bureau du Québec à Toronto). In this case, the employer is deemed to have paid an excess contribution to the health services fund that is equal to the lesser of the following amounts:

  • the amount of payroll tax paid for the year to the other government for the posted employees;
  • the amount of the contribution to the health services fund paid for the year for the employees.

The employer may submit a written request for the refund of an overpayment of contributions in the four years following the end of the year for which the employer is deemed to have paid the excess contribution.

Last Updated:

Employé détaché temporairement dans un pays ayant conclu une entente en matière de sécurité sociale avec le Québec

Cotisations au Régime de rentes du Québec

Si vous avez à votre emploi un employé québécois détaché temporairement à l'extérieur du Canada ou un employé étranger qui vient travailler temporairement au Québec, vous devez tenir compte de ce qui suit pour le calcul des cotisations au Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ).

Ententes en matière de sécurité sociale

Les ententes en matière de sécurité sociale conclues entre le Québec et divers pays permettent à certaines personnes affectées temporairement à l'étranger de continuer de verser leurs cotisations dans leur pays d'origine et d'éviter de verser également des cotisations dans leur pays d'accueil. Cela s'applique tant aux employés qui quittent temporairement le Canada qu'à ceux qui viennent temporairement travailler au Québec.

Employé québécois détaché temporairement à l'extérieur du Canada

Si vous avez détaché temporairement un employé dans un pays ayant conclu avec le Québec une entente en matière de sécurité sociale, vous devez, à certaines conditions, nous remettre votre cotisation au RRQ et celle de l'employé.

Employé étranger qui vient travailler temporairement au Québec

À certaines conditions, vous n'avez pas à retenir ni à payer de cotisations au RRQ sur les salaires versés à des employés qui ne résident pas au Canada et qui sont détachés temporairement au Québec par un employeur situé dans un pays ayant conclu avec le Québec une entente en matière de sécurité sociale.

Actuellement, le Québec a une entente avec chacun des pays suivants :

  • l'Allemagne
  • l'Autriche
  • la Barbade
  • la Belgique
  • le Chili
  • Chypre
  • la Croatie
  • le Danemark
  • la Dominique
  • les États-Unis
  • la Finlande
  • la France
  • la Grèce
  • la Hongrie
  • l'Irlande
  • l'Italie
  • la Jamaïque
  • le Luxembourg
  • Malte
  • le Maroc
  • la Norvège
  • les Pays-Bas
  • les Philippines
  • le Portugal
  • la République tchèque
  • la Roumanie
  • Sainte-Lucie
  • la Slovaquie
  • la Slovénie
  • la Suède
  • la Suisse
  • la Turquie
  • l'Uruguay
Note

De nouvelles ententes pourraient entrer en vigueur au cours de l'année. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur ces nouvelles ententes, consultez le site de Retraite Québec.

Pour bénéficier des ententes en matière de sécurité sociale, vous devez obtenir un certificat d'assujettissement.

Pour demander ce certificat, communiquez avec le Bureau des ententes de sécurité sociale de Retraite Québec à l'un des numéros suivants :

  • 514 866-7332, poste 7801;
  • 1 800 565-7878, poste 7801 (sans frais).

Cotisation au Fonds des services de santé

Employé québécois détaché temporairement à l'extérieur du Canada

Si vous êtes un employeur québécois qui a détaché un employé dans un pays ayant conclu avec le Québec une entente en matière de sécurité sociale qui prévoit la réciprocité de couverture des régimes d'assurance maladie, vous devez payer la cotisation de l'employeur au Fonds des services de santé (FSS) sur le salaire versé à l'employé.

En effet, dans le cadre d'une telle entente, cet employé est soumis uniquement à la législation du Québec visée par la réciprocité. Cet employé est alors réputé se présenter au travail à l'établissement au Québec de l'employeur qui l'a détaché.

Actuellement, le Québec a un accord en vigueur avec les pays suivants :

  • la Belgique
  • le Danemark
  • la Finlande
  • la France
  • la Grèce
  • le Luxembourg
  • la Norvège
  • le Portugal
  • la Roumanie
  • la Suède
Note

Des négociations sont en cours avec d'autres pays, et de nouvelles ententes pourraient entrer en vigueur au cours de l'année.

Si vous n'avez pas versé le salaire de l'employé pour la période où vous l'avez détaché dans l'année, les règles suivantes s'appliquent :

  • l'employé doit vous informer par écrit, au plus tard le 1er mars de l'année qui suit celle au cours de laquelle il a été détaché, du salaire qui lui a été versé pour cette période;
  • vous devrez inclure ce salaire dans vos rémunérations assujetties à la cotisation au FSS et dans votre masse salariale totale de l'année suivante, puisque vous serez réputé lui avoir versé ce salaire le 1er mars de l'année qui suit celle au cours de laquelle ce salaire lui aura été versé.

Employé étranger qui vient travailler temporairement au Québec

Vous n'avez pas à payer de cotisation d'employeur au FSS sur les salaires que vous versez à des employés qui ne résident pas au Canada et qui sont détachés temporairement au Québec par un employeur situé dans un pays autre que le Canada si ce pays a conclu une entente en matière de sécurité sociale avec le Québec.

Note

Un employeur qui est le gouvernement du Québec ou l'un de ses mandataires peut être tenu de payer à la fois une cotisation au FSS et une taxe sur la masse salariale prévue par une loi d'un autre gouvernement lorsque l'un de ses employés est détaché à l'un de ses bureaux à l'extérieur du Québec (par exemple, au Bureau du Québec à Toronto). Dans ce cas, l'employeur sera réputé avoir payé une cotisation en trop au FSS égale au moins élevé des montants suivants :

  • le montant de la taxe sur la masse salariale payée pour l'année à l'autre gouvernement à l'égard des employés détachés;
  • le montant de la cotisation au FSS payée pour l'année à l'égard de ces employés.

Le surplus lui sera remboursé s'il en fait la demande par écrit dans les quatre années qui suivent la fin de l'année où il sera réputé avoir payé ce surplus.

Dernière mise à jour :