Deceased Employee

Any amounts an employee would have received during the year had the employee not died are subject to the following:

Similarly, you must also include such amounts in your total payroll used to calculate your health services fund contribution rate, your participation in workforce skills development and, if applicable, your contribution to the Workforce Skills Development and Recognition Fund (WSDRF).

Such amounts could be, for example, an amount for accumulated vacation at the time of death or retroactive payments under a collective agreement signed before the employee's death.

However, if the payment of such an amount was unforeseeable at the time of the employee's death, it will not be subject to source deductions and employer contributions. This applies, for example, to a lump sum paid under a collective agreement signed after the employee's death.

Note

An amount paid for accumulated sick leave is considered a death benefit and is therefore subject only to source deductions of income tax. Income tax is withheld at a rate of 16% or 20%, as applicable.

Québec parental insurance plan (QPIP) premiums

Any amounts an employee would have received during the year had the employee not died are not subject to employee or employer Québec parental insurance plan (QPIP) premiums.

Note

The eligible salary or wages of an employee who dies or ceases to be resident in Canada in the year are subject to QPIP premiums for the period of the year prior to death or to the cessation of residence in Canada, since the moment that immediately precedes death or the cessation of residence is deemed to be the end of the year.

Last Updated:

Employé décédé

Toute somme due à un employé et qu'il aurait reçue pendant l'année s'il n'était pas décédé est assujettie

De même, vous devez inclure cette somme dans le calcul de votre masse salariale totale servant à déterminer votre taux de cotisation au FSS et dans le calcul de votre masse salariale servant à déterminer votre participation au développement des compétences de la main-d'œuvre et, s'il y a lieu, votre cotisation au Fonds de développement et de reconnaissance des compétences de la main-d'œuvre (FDRCMO).

Une telle somme pourrait être, par exemple, un montant équivalant aux jours de vacances accumulés au moment du décès ou un paiement rétroactif fait dans le cadre d'une convention collective signée avant le décès.

Cependant, si le versement d'une telle somme n'était pas prévisible au moment du décès, elle ne sera pas assujettie aux retenues à la source ni aux cotisations de l'employeur. Cela s'applique, par exemple, dans le cas d'une somme forfaitaire versée dans le cadre d'une convention collective conclue après le décès.

Note

Une somme versée pour des congés de maladie accumulés au décès est considérée comme une prestation au décès et, par conséquent, est assujettie uniquement à une retenue d'impôt de 16 % ou de 20 %, selon le cas.

Cotisations au Régime québécois d'assurance parentale

Toute somme due à un employé et qu'il aurait reçue pendant l'année s'il n'était pas décédé n'est pas assujettie aux cotisations de l'employé et de l'employeur au Régime québécois d'assurance parentale (RQAP).

Note

Si un employé décède ou cesse de résider au Canada dans l'année, le salaire admissible de cet employé est assujetti aux cotisations au RQAP pour la période de l'année qui précède son décès ou sa cessation de résidence au Canada, car le moment qui précède immédiatement son décès ou sa cessation de résidence est réputé la fin de l'année.

Dernière mise à jour :