Employee Who Reports for Work Only at One of Your Establishments Located Outside Canada or Who is Paid from One of Your Establishments Located Outside Canada

If an employee reports for work only at one of your establishments located outside Canada or is paid from one of your establishments located outside Canada, special rules may apply with respect to:

QPP contributions

Remuneration paid for work performed outside Canada is not subject to employee or employer QPP contributions, except in the following cases:

  • The remuneration is paid from one of your establishments located in Québec, and you have entered into an agreement with Retraite Québec respecting work performed outside Canada by employees who were resident in Québec at the time of their posting to a foreign country.
  • The work is performed in a country that has signed a social security agreement with Québec by employees who were resident in Québec at the time of their posting to a foreign country (see Employee Temporarily Posted to a Country That Has a Social Security Agreement with Québec).
Note

Contact us if the remuneration is paid from one of your establishments located in Québec, but you have not entered into an agreement with Retraite Québec respecting work performed outside Canada by employees who were resident in Québec at the time of their posting to a foreign country.

QPIP premiums

You may be required to withhold and pay QPIP premiums on an employee's eligible salary or wages if the employee was resident in Québec at the end of the year and, for the pay period concerned, the following conditions are met:

  • You have an establishment located in Québec.
  • The employee reports for work only to one of your establishments located outside Canada or the employee is not required to report for work at any of your establishments (located in Québec or elsewhere) and is paid by one of your establishments located outside Canada.
  • The employee is not subject to a premium under a prescribed plan.
  • The employee's remuneration is not subject to Employment Insurance premiums.

Employer contribution to the health services fund

If you have posted an employee to a country that has a social security agreement with Québec providing for reciprocal coverage of health insurance plans, you must pay the employer contribution to the health services fund on the salary or wages paid to the employee, even if the salary or wages are paid from your establishment located outside Canada or by a person other than you.

Last Updated:

Employé qui se présente au travail uniquement à l'un de vos établissements situés à l'extérieur du Canada ou qui est payé de l'un de vos établissements situés à l'extérieur du Canada

Si un employé se présente au travail uniquement à l'un de vos établissements situés à l'extérieur du Canada ou s'il est payé de l'un de vos établissements situés à l'extérieur du Canada, des particularités peuvent s'appliquer concernant

Cotisations au RRQ

La rémunération versée pour un travail effectué à l'extérieur du Canada n'est pas assujettie aux cotisations de l'employé et de l'employeur au RRQ, sauf dans les cas suivants :

  • la rémunération est versée de l'un de vos établissements situés au Québec, et vous avez conclu, pour vos employés qui résidaient au Québec au moment de leur affectation à l'extérieur du Canada, un arrangement avec Retraite Québec relativement à leur travail à l'étranger;
  • le travail est effectué dans un pays ayant signé avec le Québec une entente en matière de sécurité sociale par des employés qui résidaient au Québec au moment de leur affectation à l'extérieur du Canada (consultez la page Employé détaché temporairement dans un pays ayant conclu une entente en matière de sécurité sociale avec le Québec).
Note

Si les rémunérations sont versées de l'un de vos établissements situés au Québec, mais que vous n'avez pas conclu d'arrangement avec Retraite Québec pour le travail effectué à l'étranger par vos employés qui résidaient au Québec avant leur affectation, communiquez avec nous.

Cotisations au RQAP

Il est possible que vous deviez retenir et payer des cotisations au RQAP sur le salaire admissible d'un employé s'il réside au Québec à la fin de l'année et que les conditions suivantes sont remplies pour la période de paie où le salaire est versé :

  • vous avez un établissement au Québec;
  • l'employé se présente au travail uniquement à l'un de vos établissements situés à l'extérieur du Canada ou, s'il n'est pas obligé de se présenter au travail à l'un de vos établissements (situés au Québec ou ailleurs), il est payé de l'un de vos établissements situés à l'extérieur du Canada;
  • l'employé n'est pas assujetti à une cotisation en vertu d'un régime prescrit;
  • la rémunération de l'employé n'est pas assujettie aux cotisations à l'assurance emploi.

Cotisation de l'employeur au FSS

Si vous avez détaché un employé dans un pays ayant conclu avec le Québec une entente en matière de sécurité sociale qui prévoit la réciprocité de couverture des régimes d'assurance maladie, vous devez payer la cotisation de l'employeur au FSS sur le salaire qui lui est versé, et ce, même s'il est versé de votre établissement situé à l'extérieur du Canada ou par une autre personne que vous.

Dernière mise à jour :