Employee Who Is a Student

As a rule, you must make source deductions and pay employer contributions on the amounts you pay to an employee who is a student as you would for any other employee if one of the basic conditions is met. However, you may have to take into account special rules in certain situations. 

Note

An employee's age does not affect source deductions of income tax, Québec parental insurance plan (QPIP) premiums, the contribution to the health services fund, the contribution related to labour standards and, if applicable, the contribution to the Workforce Skills Development and Recognition Fund (WSDRF).

Source deductions of income tax

Do not make source deductions of income tax on an employee's employment income, if the employee requests to be exempted from source deductions on form TP-1015.3-V, Source Deductions Return, because the employee estimates that the total income from all sources for the year will not exceed the total of the following amounts:

  • the amount entered on line 10 of form TP-1015.3-V, multiplied by 1.25; and 
  • the amount entered on line 19 of form TP-1015.3-V.

This exemption applies only to the year of the request.

Important

Such an exemption only applies to employment income. Do not take such an exemption into account if you pay remuneration as a payer.

Québec Pension Plan contributions

If your employee is under 18 years of age, you do not have to withhold or remit Québec Pension Plan (QPP) contributions. If your employee turns 18 during the year, see Employee Who Turns 18

Last Updated:

Employé qui est un étudiant

En règle générale, vous devez faire des retenues à la source et payer vos cotisations d'employeur sur la somme que vous versez à un employé qui est un étudiant au même titre que tout autre employé si l'une des conditions de base est remplie. Cependant, vous devrez peut-être tenir compte des particularités qui suivent dans certaines situations. 

Note

L'âge d'un employé n'a aucune incidence sur la retenue d'impôt, les cotisations au Régime québécois d'assurance parentale (RQAP), la cotisation au Fonds des services de santé (FSS), la cotisation relative aux normes du travail et, s'il y a lieu, la cotisation au Fonds de développement et de reconnaissance des compétences de la main-d'œuvre (FDRCMO).

Retenue d'impôt

Vous ne devez pas retenir d'impôt du Québec sur le revenu d'emploi d'un employé si celui-ci en a fait la demande dans le formulaire Déclaration pour la retenue d'impôt (TP-1015.3), parce qu'il estime que le total de ses revenus de toute source pour cette année ne dépassera pas le total des montants suivants :

  • le montant inscrit à la ligne 10 de ce formulaire, multiplié par 1,25;
  • le montant inscrit à la ligne 19 de ce formulaire.

Cette exonération vaut uniquement pour l'année de la demande.

Important

Une telle exonération s'applique uniquement aux revenus d'emploi. Vous ne devez pas en tenir compte si vous versez une rémunération en tant que payeur.

Cotisations au Régime de rentes du Québec

Si votre employé a moins de 18 ans, vous n'avez pas à retenir ni à payer de cotisations au Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ). Si votre employé atteint 18 ans au cours de l'année, voyez la page Employé qui atteint 18 ans pour obtenir plus de renseignements. 

Dernière mise à jour :