Foreign Farm Workers

Source deductions of income tax

As a rule, a foreign farm worker who is not resident in Canada and who has a valid work permit exclusively for seasonal farm work issued by the Canadian immigration authorities under a recognized federal program can claim a deduction in respect of income from such work.

Recognized federal programs

  • Seasonal Agricultural Workers Program
  • Agriculture Stream

If you employ such a worker, you do not have to withhold income tax on the gross remuneration you pay the worker, provided he or she meets both the following requirements:

  • The worker obtained, under the Temporary Foreign Worker Program administered by the federal government, form TD1, Personal Tax Credits Return, duly certified by a designated government official by means of an official stamp affixed to the form.
  • The worker's estimated income for the year from all sources is less than $29,088.

If the worker does not meet these requirements, you must use deduction code “O” to withhold income tax from a portion of the gross remuneration you pay the worker.

To calculate the remuneration subject to source deductions of income tax for such an employee, you must subtract from the gross remuneration you pay the worker for a pay period the portion of the remuneration that gives entitlement to the deduction for foreign farm workers.

To calculate the portion of the remuneration that gives entitlement to the deduction, you must first subtract from the gross remuneration that you pay to the worker for a pay period certain expenses that the worker is required to assume in carrying out his or her work duties for the pay period (for example, expenses for supplies used directly by the worker in the carrying out of his or her duties, such as work gloves or a hatchet). Then multiply the result by 50%. The amount thus determined is the portion of the worker's remuneration that gives entitlement to the deduction.

Note

Foreign farm workers are not required to file the Source Deductions Return (form TP-1015.3-V).

Québec Pension Plan contributions, Québec parental insurance plan premiums and other employer contributions

All of the salaries or wages paid to foreign farm workers entitled to a deduction in the calculation of their taxable income are subject to the following:

Moreover, the total of such remuneration must also be included in your total payroll used to calculate your health services contribution rate, your participation in workforce skills development and, if applicable, your contribution to the Workforce Skills Development and Recognition Fund (WSDRF).

Last Updated:

Travailleur agricole étranger

Retenue d'impôt

En règle générale, un travailleur agricole étranger qui, dans les faits, ne réside pas au Canada et qui détient un permis de travail valide uniquement pour un travail agricole saisonnier délivré par les autorités canadiennes de l'immigration, dans le cadre d'un des programmes fédéraux reconnus, peut bénéficier d'une déduction relativement à son revenu provenant d'un tel travail.

Programmes fédéraux reconnus

  • Programme des travailleurs agricoles saisonniers
  • Volet agricole 

Si vous employez un tel travailleur, vous n'avez pas à retenir d'impôt sur la rémunération brute que vous lui versez s'il satisfait aux exigences suivantes :

  • il a obtenu, aux fins du Programme des travailleurs étrangers temporaires administré par le gouvernement fédéral, le formulaire Déclaration des crédits d'impôt personnels (TD1), dûment validé par un fonctionnaire désigné qui y aura apposé une estampille officielle;
  • son revenu estimatif de toute source pour l'année est inférieur à 29 088 $.

S'il ne satisfait pas à ces exigences, vous devez retenir de l'impôt sur une partie de la rémunération brute que vous lui versez en utilisant le code de retenues O.

Pour calculer la paie assujettie à la retenue d'impôt d'un tel employé, vous devez soustraire de la rémunération brute que vous lui versez pour une période de paie la partie de cette rémunération qui lui donne droit à la déduction.

Pour calculer la partie de la rémunération qui donne droit à la déduction pour un travailleur agricole étranger, soustrayez d'abord de la rémunération brute que vous versez à l'employé pour une période de paie certaines dépenses qu'il doit assumer dans l'exercice de ses fonctions pour cette période de paie (par exemple, les frais payés pour des fournitures consommées directement dans l'exercice de ses fonctions, comme des gants de manutention, une hachette, etc.). Ensuite, multipliez le résultat de cette soustraction par 50 %. Le montant obtenu correspond à la partie de sa rémunération qui lui donne droit à la déduction.

Note

Un travailleur agricole étranger ne doit pas produire le formulaire Déclaration pour la retenue d'impôt (TP-1015.3).

Cotisations au Régime de rentes du Québec et au Régime québécois d'assurance parentale et autres cotisations de l'employeur

La totalité des salaires versés aux travailleurs agricoles étrangers qui bénéficient d'une déduction dans le calcul de leur revenu imposable est assujettie

De plus, vous devez l'inclure dans le calcul de votre masse salariale totale servant à déterminer votre taux de cotisation au FSS et dans le calcul de votre masse salariale servant à déterminer votre participation au développement des compétences de la main-d'œuvre et, s'il y a lieu, votre cotisation au Fonds de développement et de reconnaissance des compétences de la main-d'œuvre (FDRCMO).

Dernière mise à jour :