Foreign Employees Entitled to a Five-Year Tax Exemption

As a rule, an individual who is not resident in Canada and who comes to Québec to work in certain specialized sectors of activity (hereinafter called an “employee”) is entitled to a full or partial tax exemption for a period of five years, provided the eligibility requirements are met. The exemption consists in a deduction in the calculation of taxable income.

Such an employee is entitled to only one five-year exemption period, even if he or she holds more than one type of employment qualifying for the exemption. The exemption period is continuous in the case of employees who enter into an employment contract after March 30, 2004.

However, if the employee signed a contract before March 31, 2004, and renews the contract after March 30, 2004, and if, under tax legislation, the contract is not considered to be separate from the contract signed prior to March 31, 2004, the employee's exemption period may be non-continuous. This means that if the employee stops working before the end of the five-year exemption period, the period in which he or she is not working is not taken into account in calculating the five-year period as long as the employee does not sign a new (separate) contract.

To calculate the source deductions of income tax with respect to such an employee, see Source Deductions of Income Tax for Foreign Employees Entitled to a Five-Year Tax Exemption.

Applying for a certificate or a qualification certificate

In order for an employee to benefit from the exemption, you must obtain a certificate or a qualification certificate with regard to the employee. To find out how to proceed, contact the government body responsible for issuing the certificate or qualification certificate you require. For a list of such government bodies, see Eligibility Requirements for the Five-Year Tax Exemption for Foreign Employees.

As a rule, you must apply for a certificate or qualification certificate each year. Your application for a given year must be submitted by the last day of February of the following year.

Documents to be given to the employee

You must give the employee a copy of the certificate or qualification certificate, so that the employee may claim the tax exemption to which he or she is entitled in his or her income tax return.

Foreign employee who spends more than 182 days in Québec before taking up his or her employment duties

A foreign employee who spends more than 182 days in Québec in a year is deemed to be resident in Québec throughout the year. However, this rule does not apply for the purposes of determining whether a foreign employee was resident in Canada immediately before taking up his or her employment duties.

Example

If a foreign employee was in Québec from March 1 to September 1 of a given year (a period of more than 182 days) and started to work on October 1 of that year, the employee is not deemed to have been resident in Québec since January 1 of that year. Consequently, the employee was not resident in Canada before taking up employment duties on October 1.
Last Updated:

Employé étranger qui a droit à une exemption fiscale de cinq ans

En règle générale, un particulier qui ne réside pas au Canada et qui vient travailler au Québec dans certains secteurs d'activité spécialisés (ci-après appelé employé) peut bénéficier d'une exemption fiscale (totale ou partielle) de cinq ans sur son salaire si les conditions d'admissibilité sont remplies. Cette exemption prend la forme d'une déduction dans le calcul de son revenu imposable.

Un tel employé peut bénéficier d'une seule période d'exemption fiscale de cinq ans, même s'il occupe plusieurs emplois qui donnent droit à une telle exemption. Cette période d'exemption est continue pour l'employé qui conclut un contrat d'emploi après le 30 mars 2004.

Toutefois, si l'employé avait déjà signé un contrat avant le 31 mars 2004, qu'il renouvelle ce contrat après le 30 mars 2004 et que, selon la législation fiscale, ce contrat n'est pas considéré comme distinct de celui qu'il avait signé avant le 31 mars 2004, sa période d'exemption peut être discontinue. Dans un tel cas, si l'employé cesse de travailler avant la fin de son exemption de cinq ans, la période d'interruption n'est pas prise en compte dans la période de cinq ans, et ce, tant et aussi longtemps qu'il ne signe pas de nouveau contrat (contrat distinct).

Pour calculer la retenue d'impôt d'un tel employé, consultez la page Retenue d'impôt.

Demande d'attestation ou de certificat

Pour que l'employé bénéficie de l'exemption, vous devez obtenir une attestation ou un certificat à son égard. Pour connaître la procédure à suivre pour en faire la demande, adressez-vous à l'organisme responsable de délivrer l'attestation ou le certificat dont vous avez besoin. Voyez la page Conditions d'admissibilité à la déduction pour connaître ces organismes.

En règle générale, vous devez faire une demande pour chaque année, au plus tard le dernier jour de février de l'année suivante.

Documents à remettre à l'employé

Pour que l'employé puisse demander l'exemption fiscale à laquelle il a droit dans sa déclaration de revenus, vous devrez lui remettre une copie de l'attestation ou du certificat que vous avez obtenu à son égard.

Employé étranger qui a séjourné au Québec plus de 182 jours avant son entrée en fonction

Un employé étranger qui séjourne au Québec plus de 182 jours au cours d'une année est réputé résider au Québec toute l'année. Toutefois, cette présomption ne s'applique pas lorsqu'il s'agit de déterminer si un employé étranger résidait ou non au Canada immédiatement avant son entrée en fonction.

Exemple

Si un employé étranger séjourne au Québec du 1er mars au 1er septembre d'une année (soit plus de 182 jours) et qu'il commence à travailler le 1er octobre, il n'est pas réputé résider au Québec depuis le 1er janvier de l'année. Par conséquent, il n'est pas considéré comme un résident du Canada avant son entrée en fonction (le 1er octobre).

Dernière mise à jour :