Source Deductions Return

Individuals use the Source Deductions Return (form TP-1015.3-V) to report the deductions and personal tax credits to which they are entitled so that you, their employer or payer, can calculate source deductions of income tax on their remuneration. These source deductions of income tax must be calculated using the source deduction table for Québec income tax, the formulas or a fixed rate.

If the source deductions of income tax must be made using a fixed rate, you must withhold income tax directly from the individual's remuneration without taking into account form TP-1015.3-V (or the basic amount if the individual did not provide form TP-1015.3-V). If we authorize you to reduce the amount of income tax withheld because the individual has filed an Application for a Reduction in Source Deductions of Income Tax (form TP-1016-V), you must take the authorized reduction into account.

Individuals can complete form TP-1015.3-V at any time to change the amounts of the deductions or credits to which they are entitled. A copy of form TP-1015.3-V does not have to be completed each year. If an individual does not complete form TP-1015.3-V, you must take into account only the basic amount in calculating source deductions of income tax. In that case, use “A” as the deduction code.

Given that the annual indexation of the income tax system does not affect an individual's deduction code, individuals are not required to complete form TP-1015.3-V each year.

Individuals who have more than one employer or payer at the same time (deduction code “0”)

An individual who has already asked another employer or payer to take into account the basic amount can complete form TP-1015.3-V to request that you use code “0” in withholding income tax. This will ensure that the basic amount is not taken into account a second time.

Exemption from source deductions of income tax respecting employment income

Do not withhold Québec income tax from an employee's employment income if the employee has requested an exemption by checking box 20 on form TP-1015.3-V because he or she estimates that his or her total income from all sources for the year will not exceed the total of the following amounts:

  • the amount entered on line 10 of the form, multiplied by 1.25;
  • the amount entered on line 19 of the form.

This exemption is valid only for the year for which it was requested.

Important

Such an exemption applies only to employment income. You must not take it into account if you pay remuneration as a payer.

Exemption from source deductions of the health contribution

You do not have to withhold the health contribution of an individual who requests the exemption on line 22 of form TP-1015.3-V.

This exemption is valid only for the year of the request.

Individual who is not resident in Canada or who becomes resident in Canada during the year

If an individual is not resident in Canada in the year or becomes a resident during the year, the deductions and personal tax credits that the individual can enter on form TP-1015.3-V may be limited.

Individual who spends fewer than 183 days in Québec

An individual who spends fewer than 183 days in Québec in the year and expects to include at least 90% of his or her income for the year from all sources in the calculation of taxable income earned in Canada can enter, on lines 1 through 9 of form TP-1015.3-V for the year concerned, the total of the amounts to which he or she is entitled, except if:

However, the individual cannot enter any amount on form TP-1015.3-V with regard to the deduction for support payments.

Furthermore, no amount can be entered on form TP-1015.3-V if the individual expects that less than 90% of his or her income for the year from all sources will be included in the calculation of taxable income earned in Canada.

Individual who spends more than 182 days in Québec

An individual who spends more than 182 days in Québec during the year is considered to be resident in Québec throughout the year and can enter on form TP-1015.3-V (for the year concerned) the total of the amounts used to calculate the tax credits and deductions to which he or she is entitled.

Individual who becomes resident in Canada

Contact us to find out what rules apply with regard to the amounts that an individual who becomes resident in Canada during the year must enter on form TP-1015.3-V.

Important

You are required to keep the TP-1015.3-V forms submitted to you and to provide them to us on request.

Last Updated:

Déclaration pour la retenue d'impôt

Le formulaire Déclaration pour la retenue d'impôt (TP-1015.3) permet au particulier de déclarer les déductions et les crédits d'impôt personnels auxquels il a droit pour que vous, son employeur ou son payeur, déterminiez la retenue d'impôt à effectuer sur sa rémunération. Cette retenue d'impôt doit être effectuée à l'aide de la table des retenues à la source d'impôt du Québec ou des formules pour le calcul des retenues à la source et des cotisations.

Si la retenue d'impôt doit être effectuée selon un taux fixe, vous devez faire la retenue d'impôt directement sur cette rémunération sans tenir compte du formulaire TP-1015.3 (ou du montant de base, dans le cas où le particulier ne vous a pas remis ce formulaire). Nous pouvons vous autoriser à réduire la retenue d'impôt sur la somme que vous versez à un particulier si ce dernier a fait une telle demande à l'aide du formulaire Demande de réduction de la retenue d'impôt (TP-1016). Dans ce cas, vous devez tenir compte du montant de la réduction autorisée pour calculer la retenue d'impôt.

Un particulier peut en tout temps remplir le formulaire TP-1015.3 pour modifier les montants des déductions et des crédits auxquels il a droit. Il n'a pas à remplir ce formulaire chaque année. S'il ne le remplit pas, vous devez retenir l'impôt sur sa rémunération uniquement en fonction du montant de base. Dans ce cas, utilisez le code de retenues A.

Un particulier n'a pas à remplir à nouveau ce formulaire pour bénéficier de l'indexation annuelle du régime d'imposition, car cette indexation ne modifie pas son code de retenues.

Particulier qui a plus d'un employeur ou d'un payeur à la fois (code de retenues O)

Un particulier qui a déjà demandé à un autre employeur ou à un autre payeur de tenir compte du montant de base peut vous demander, à l'aide du formulaire TP-1015.3, de faire sa retenue d'impôt en fonction du code de retenues O. De cette manière, le montant de base ne sera pas pris en considération une seconde fois.

Exonération de la retenue d'impôt sur un revenu d'emploi

Vous ne devez pas retenir d'impôt du Québec sur le revenu d'emploi d'un employé si celui-ci en a fait la demande en cochant la case 20 du formulaire TP-1015.3, parce qu'il a estimé que le total de ses revenus de toute source pour cette année ne dépassera pas le total des montants suivants :

  • le montant inscrit à la ligne 10 de ce formulaire, multiplié par 1,25;
  • le montant inscrit à la ligne 19 de ce formulaire.

Cette exonération vaut uniquement pour l'année de la demande.

Important

Une telle exonération s'applique uniquement aux revenus d'emploi. Vous ne devez pas en tenir compte si vous versez une rémunération en tant que payeur.

Particulier qui n'est pas résident du Canada ou qui devient résident du Canada durant l'année

Les déductions et les crédits d'impôt personnels qui figurent sur le formulaire TP-1015.3 peuvent être limités lorsqu'un particulier n'est pas résident du Canada dans l'année ou s'il devient résident du Canada durant l'année.

Particulier qui séjourne au Québec moins de 183 jours

Si un particulier séjourne au Québec moins de 183 jours dans l'année et qu'il prévoit que 90 % ou plus de son revenu pour l'année, quelle que soit sa provenance, sera inclus dans son revenu imposable gagné au Canada, il peut inscrire dans le formulaire TP-1015.3 (de l'année visée) la totalité des montants auxquels il a droit parmi ceux qui figurent aux lignes 1 à 9 de ce formulaire, sauf

Toutefois, le particulier ne peut inscrire aucun montant dans ce formulaire concernant la déduction pour une pension alimentaire.

De plus, le particulier ne peut inscrire aucun montant dans ce formulaire s'il prévoit que moins de 90 % de son revenu pour l'année, quelle qu'en soit sa provenance, sera inclus dans son revenu imposable gagné au Canada.

Particulier qui séjourne au Québec plus de 182 jours

Un particulier qui séjourne au Québec plus de 182 jours dans l'année est considéré comme ayant résidé au Québec toute l'année. Il peut donc inscrire dans le formulaire TP-1015.3 rempli pour l'année visée la totalité des montants servant au calcul des crédits d'impôt et des déductions auxquels il a droit.

Particulier qui devient résident du Canada

Si un particulier devient résident du Canada au cours de l'année, communiquez avec nous pour connaître les règles relatives aux montants qu'il doit inscrire dans le formulaire TP-1015.3.

Important

Vous devez conserver les formulaires TP-1015.3 qui vous sont remis pour pouvoir nous les fournir sur demande.

Dernière mise à jour :