Contribution to the Health Services Fund

As a rule, you must pay a contribution to the health services fund based on the total salary or wages subject to the contribution that you paid to an employee if one or more of the basic conditions for making source deductions and employer contributions are met (check whether any of the special cases apply).

You must pay a contribution to the health services fund based on the total salaries or wages subject to the contribution that you paid to your employees.

The contribution rate varies from 2.7% to 4.26%, depending on your total payroll. Certain employers may be eligible for a reduction of the health services fund contribution rate for small and medium-sized businesses in the primary and manufacturing sectors. Certain public-sector employers must pay a contribution of 4.26%, regardless of their total payroll. In certain cases, employees may be required to pay a contribution to the health services fund when they file their income tax return.

Calculating your contribution

To determine your contribution to the health services fund, you can use:

See Calculating the Contribution to the Health Services Fund  for information on how to calculate your contribution to the health services fund.

Special rules apply to an employer that is an Indian, an Indian band or a band council.

The contribution must be remitted periodically, according to your remittance method and remittance frequency.

Note

If you stop making remittances of source deductions and employer contributions, the deadlines for filing your documents differ depending on whether you stopped operating your business or no longer have employees.

Last Updated:

Cotisation au Fonds des services de santé

En règle générale, vous devez payer une cotisation au Fonds des services de santé (FSS) sur les rémunérations que vous versez à un employé seulement si l'une des conditions de base pour faire des retenues à la source et payer des cotisations est remplie (vérifiez si les particularités mentionnées s'appliquent).

Vous devez payer une cotisation au FSS basée sur le total des salaires assujettis que vous versez à vos employés.

Le taux de cette cotisation varie de 2,7 % à 4,26 % selon votre masse salariale totale. Certains employeurs peuvent bénéficier d'une réduction du taux de cotisation au FSS pour les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) des secteurs primaire et manufacturier. Par ailleurs, les employeurs du secteur public doivent payer une cotisation équivalant à 4,26 % des salaires qu'ils versent, peu importe leur masse salariale totale. L'employé pourrait également, dans certains cas, devoir verser une cotisation au FSS lors de la production de sa déclaration de revenus.

Calcul des cotisations

Pour déterminer le montant de votre cotisation au FSS, vous pouvez utiliser

Pour savoir comment calculer votre cotisation au FSS, voyez la page Calcul de la cotisation.

Certaines règles particulières s'appliquent si vous êtes un employeur indien, une bande indienne ou un conseil de bande.

Vous devez payer votre cotisation au FSS périodiquement, selon votre fréquence de paiement et le mode de paiement qui vous convient. 

Note

Si vous cessez de faire des paiements de retenues à la source et de cotisations de l'employeur, le délai pour transmettre vos documents diffère selon que vous cessez d'exploiter votre entreprise ou que vous n'avez plus d'employés.

Dernière mise à jour :