Summary of the Revocation of an Exemption Granted by the Minister Respecting Resto Bars

An operator of a restaurant establishment (This link will open a new window) that holds a restaurant permit, a pub permit, a tavern permit, a bar permit or a reunion permit issued under the Act respecting liquor permits, is no longer exempted from having to provide bills produced using a sales recording module (SRM) for the supply of a beverage served, without food, for consumption on the premises in an establishment holding a liquor permit.  

After September 2, 2015, the exemption ceases to apply as soon as an operator activates an SRM in its establishment, except in the case where an SRM is activated to replace a damaged one. No such exemption will be granted as of February 1, 2016. 

Without the exemption, an operator must provide clients with bills produced using an SRM for the supply of beverages served without food in its establishment. 

In addition, an operator will be subject to new requirements under the mandatory billing measures. These requirements involve the following: 

  • the supply of certain property or services made in the operator's establishment (or at its entrance or near the establishment);  
  • filing form VD-350.51.1-V, Information Return Concerning Contracts Respecting the Supply of Property or Services in a Restaurant Establishment, when a person ordinarily makes a supply of property or services in its establishments (or at their entrances or near the establishments);
  • entering, in an SRM, information about a written agreement with another person that makes supplies on an exceptional basis in the operator's establishment (or at its entrance or near the establishment).

The above is only a summary of the revocation of the exemption. Note that the full text of the revocation of the exemption takes precedence over this summary.

For the full text, see DIS-350.57.RB-V, Revocation of an Exemption Granted by the Minister: Resto Bars, which is available on our website under Documents and Information Subject to the Regulation Respecting the Distribution of Information.

Last Updated:

Résumé de la révocation de la dispense du ministre relative aux restos-bars

L'exploitant d'un établissement de restauration (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre) titulaire d'un permis de restaurant, de brasserie, de taverne, de bar ou de réunion, délivré en vertu de la Loi sur les permis d'alcool, n'est plus dispensé de l'obligation de remettre une facture produite au moyen d'un module d'enregistrement des ventes (MEV) à l'égard de la fourniture d'une boisson servie sans aliment et pour consommation sur place dans le lieu visé par le permis d'alcool. 

La révocation de la dispense prend effet au plus tard le 1er février 2016 ou à la date à laquelle cet exploitant active, à partir du 2 septembre 2015, un MEV dans son établissement, à l'exception d'un MEV activé en remplacement d'un MEV endommagé. 

Dès lors, il doit remettre aux clients une facture produite au moyen de son MEV lors de la fourniture de boissons servies seules dans ce lieu. 

De plus, il devient assujetti à de nouvelles obligations découlant des mesures sur la facturation obligatoire. Celles-ci concernent notamment

  • la fourniture de certains biens ou services qu'il effectue dans son établissement (ou à l'entrée ou à proximité de celui-ci);
  • la production du formulaire Déclaration de renseignements concernant la conclusion, la modification ou l'expiration d'un contrat relatif à la fourniture de biens ou de services dans un établissement de restauration (VD-350.51.1), lorsqu'une personne effectue habituellement des fournitures dans son établissement (ou à l'entrée ou à proximité de celui-ci);
  • l'inscription, dans un MEV, des informations relatives à une convention écrite conclue avec une autre personne qui effectue des fournitures de façon inhabituelle dans son établissement (ou à l'entrée ou à proximité de celui-ci).

Ce texte constitue uniquement un résumé de la révocation de la dispense. Notez que le texte intégral de la révocation de la dispense prévaut sur le texte du résumé.

Vous pouvez consulter le texte intégral de la Révocation d'une dispense du ministre − Resto-bar (DIS-350.57.RB), qui est accessible dans la sous-section Documents et renseignements visés par le Règlement sur la diffusion. 

Dernière mise à jour :