Liquidation of a Corporation or a Partnership

Consumption taxes

The liquidator of a corporation or partnership must request that we cancel the GST and QST registration. The liquidator must also request that we cancel the registration for other consumption taxes, if applicable.

If the corporation or partnership holds a permit in the fuel or tobacco sector, you must inform us of the liquidation before the corporation or partnership is liquidated by doing one of the following:

  • filing form LM-4-V, Information Update: Fuel Tax Act and Tobacco Tax Act
  • sending us a letter providing the necessary information

In addition, if the corporation holds an IFTA licence, you must request that the licence be cancelled.

Source deductions and employer contributions

Before a corporation or partnership is liquidated, it must, as an employer, make its final remittance and file the required forms by the prescribed deadlines. For more information, click You Stop Making Remittances.

In addition, the liquidator must request cancellation of the corporation's or partnership's registration for source deductions by filing form LM-1.A-V, Request for Cancellation or Variation of Registration.

Income tax – Corporations

You must file a corporation income tax return for the taxation year in which a corporation was liquidated if you are required to file a corporation income tax return for that taxation year. In addition, you are generally required to file income tax returns for the corporation until it is dissolved.

If you are not required to file a return, you can request that we cancel the corporation's registration for corporation income tax by filing form LM-1.A-V, Request for Cancellation or Variation of Registration.

Directors' liabilities

As a director of a corporation, you are liable for your actions (for example, when you distribute the corporation's property).

Partnership information return

Before a partnership is liquidated, you must file a final information return for the fiscal period ending on the date the partnership ceased its activities.

Unclaimed property

Within 30 days following the date on which the certificate of dissolution or notice of closure of liquidation is issued, the liquidator must remit any unclaimed amounts and dividends to us.

For more information on unclaimed property, click Unclaimed Property.

Registraire des entreprises

When a corporation or partnership is liquidated, you may have obligations related to the Registraire des entreprises. For more information, click Liquider ou dissoudre une entreprise.

Last Updated:

Liquidation d'une société ou d'une société de personnes

Taxes

Le liquidateur d'une société ou d'une société de personnes doit demander l'annulation de l'inscription aux fichiers de la TPS et de la TVQ. Il doit aussi demander l'annulation de l'inscription de la société aux fichiers des autres taxes à la consommation auxquels elle est inscrite.

Si la société ou la société de personnes est titulaire d'un permis pour ses activités dans le secteur du carburant ou le secteur du tabac, vous devez nous informer du changement avant sa liquidation. Pour ce faire, vous pouvez procéder de l'une des façons suivantes :

  • utiliser le formulaire Mise à jour des renseignements – Loi concernant la taxe sur les carburants et Loi concernant l'impôt sur le tabac (LM-4);
  • rédiger une lettre contenant les renseignements que vous devez nous transmettre.

De plus, si la société possède un permis IFTA, vous devez en demander l'annulation.

Retenues à la source et cotisations de l'employeur 

Avant la liquidation d'une société, l'entreprise doit, en tant qu'employeur, faire son dernier paiement et produire les formulaires requis dans les délais prescrits. Pour en apprendre davantage, consultez la page Vous cessez de faire des paiements.

De plus, le liquidateur doit demander l'annulation de l'inscription de la société ou de la société de personnes au fichier des retenues à la source au moyen du formulaire Demande d'annulation ou de modification de l'inscription (LM-1.A).

Impôt des sociétés

Vous êtes tenu de produire une déclaration de revenus des sociétés pour l'année d'imposition où a lieu la liquidation d'une société si vous avez l'obligation de produire une déclaration de revenus pour cette année d'imposition. De plus, vous êtes généralement tenu de produire des déclarations de revenus pour la société jusqu'à sa dissolution.

Si vous n'avez pas cette obligation, vous pouvez demander l'annulation de l'inscription de la société au fichier de l'impôt des sociétés en remplissant le formulaire Demande d'annulation ou de modification de l'inscription (LM-1.A).

Responsabilités des administrateurs d'une société 

Notez qu'en tant qu'administrateur d'une société, vous avez des responsabilités envers nous, par exemple au moment de la distribution des biens de la société.

Déclaration de renseignements d'une société de personnes

Avant la liquidation d'une société de personnes, vous êtes tenu de produire une dernière déclaration de renseignements pour l'exercice financier se terminant au moment où les activités de la société de personnes prennent fin.

Biens non réclamés

Dans les 30 jours qui suivent la date de la délivrance du certificat de dissolution ou de l'avis de clôture, le liquidateur doit nous remettre les sommes et les dividendes qui n'ont pas été réclamés. 

Pour en savoir plus sur les biens non réclamés, consultez la sous-section Biens non réclamés.

Registraire des entreprises

Au moment de la dissolution d'une société ou d'une société de personnes, vous pouvez avoir des obligations à remplir auprès du Registraire des entreprises. Voyez la page Liquider ou dissoudre une entreprise de ce site Internet.

Dernière mise à jour :