Calculating the Taxes

Currently, GST and QST are collected on most goods and services supplied in Québec.  As of January 1, 2013, the QST will be applied at a rate of 9.975% to the selling price excluding the GST.

Example

You sell a taxable good for $100. Taxes are calculated as follows:

Selling price

$100.00

GST ($100 × 5%)

$5.00

QST ($100 × 9.975%)

    $9.98

Total 

$114.98

Phasing out of the penny

As of February 4, 2013, if a consumer pays cash and cannot give you exact change, the total amount of the transaction must be rounded up or down. For rounding guidelines, see the Department of Finance Canada website.

Rounding off sales totals applies to cash payments only. Payments made electronically or by cheque must not be rounded off. Note that rounding off amounts must not impact GST and QST amounts. The GST and QST to be collected and remitted to us is determined based on the total amount of a sale, not the rounded-off amount.

Tax rates

The rate you use for calculating the taxes will depend on your cash register:

  • You must use the 9.975% rate to calculate the QST if your cash register calculates the GST and QST in two stages, that is, if it calculates 5% GST on the sale price, then also calculates the QST on the sale price. This rate may be rounded off to 9.97% only if your cash register does not process three-decimal numbers.
  • You must use the 14.975% rate to calculate the GST and QST if your cash register calculates these taxes in one stage, that is, if it uses a single rate to calculate the GST and QST on the sale price. This rate may be rounded off to 14.97% only if your cash register does not process three-decimal numbers.

The rates of 9.97%, 14.97% and 14.975% must not appear on the document attesting to the sale.

Only fractions equal to or greater than one-half of a cent ($0.005) are counted as a whole cent ($0.01) of sales tax. If more than one good or service is being sold, you can calculate the taxes on the total price of all the goods or services purchased before rounding off the fractions.

Last Updated: 2014-01-17

Calcul des taxes

Actuellement, la TPS et la TVQ sont perçues lors de la fourniture de la plupart des biens et des services effectuée au Québec. Depuis le 1er janvier 2013, la TVQ est calculée sur le prix de vente excluant la TPS et le taux de la TVQ est de 9,975 %.

Exemple

Vous vendez un bien taxable au prix de 100 $. Les taxes sont calculées comme suit :

Prix de vente

100,00 $

TPS (100 $ × 5 %)

5,00 $

TVQ (100 × 9,975 %)

    9,98 $

Total 

114,98 $

Retrait de la pièce de monnaie d’un cent

Depuis le 4 février 2013, si le consommateur paie comptant et ne peut pas vous remettre la somme exacte, le montant total de la transaction doit être arrondi. Pour obtenir les lignes directrices de l’arrondissement, consultez le site Internet du ministère des Finances du Canada.

L’arrondissement s’applique aux paiements comptants seulement. Le montant des paiements électroniques et par chèque ne doit pas être arrondi. De plus, vous ne devez pas tenir compte de l’arrondissement dans le calcul de la TPS et de la TVQ. Le montant des taxes à percevoir et à nous remettre demeure donc le même.

Taux de taxe à utiliser

Vous devez vérifier la façon dont votre caisse enregistreuse calcule les taxes pour déterminer le taux que vous devez utiliser pour effectuer ce calcul.

  • Vous devez utiliser le taux de 9,975 % pour calculer la TVQ si votre caisse enregistreuse calcule la TPS et la TVQ en deux étapes. La caisse applique la TPS au taux de 5 % au prix de vente, puis la TVQ au même prix. Votre caisse ne peut pas traiter un chiffre ayant trois décimales? Vous pouvez arrondir le pourcentage à 9,97 %. Vous ne pouvez pas employer ce taux arrondi autrement que dans cette situation.
  • Vous devez utiliser le taux de 14,975 % pour calculer la TPS et la TVQ si votre caisse enregistreuse calcule ces taxes en une seule étape. La caisse applique la TPS et la TVQ ensemble au prix de vente. Votre caisse ne peut pas traiter un chiffre ayant trois décimales? Vous pouvez arrondir le pourcentage à 14,97 %. 

Les taux de 9,97 %, de 14,97 % et de 14,975 % ne doivent pas figurer sur le document confirmant la vente.

Seules les fractions égales ou supérieures à 0,005 $ sont comptées comme 0,01 $. Vous vendez plus d’un bien? Vous pouvez calculer la TPS et la TVQ payables sur le total des prix de tous ces biens avant d’arrondir les fractions.

Dernière mise à jour : 17 janvier 2014