Artists

If you are an artist and your services have been engaged under an employment contract, your employer has the same obligations under Québec tax legislation as any other employer. You are then considered an employee.

However, you may choose to be considered a self-employed person if, in a given year,

  • you signed contracts with one or more producers; and
  • you worked in a field of artistic endeavour covered by the Act respecting the professional status and conditions of engagement of performing, recording and film artists.

If, as an artist resident in Canada, you inform a producer that you have chosen to be considered self-employed, the producer has none of the fiscal obligations an employer would have with regard to you.

For more information, refer to the following interpretation bulletins, available on the Publications du Québec website:

  • Fiscal obligations of a person who employs an artist working in one of the fields of artistic endeavour covered by the Act respecting the professional status and conditions of engagement of performing, recording and films artists (IMP. 1015-5/R1)
  • Fiscal status of an artist working in one of the fields of artistic endeavour covered by the Act respecting the professional status and conditions of engagement of performing, recording and film artists (IMP. 80-3/R5)
Last Updated:

Artiste

Si vous êtes un artiste et que vous exercez votre art dans le cadre d'un contrat de travail, les obligations de votre employeur sont celles que la législation fiscale québécoise impose à toute personne qui embauche un employé. Vous êtes alors considéré comme un salarié.

Toutefois, vous pouvez vous prévaloir d'une présomption pour être considéré comme un travailleur autonome si, à la fois, au cours d'une année donnée,

  • vous avez conclu plusieurs engagements avec un ou plusieurs producteurs;
  • vous travaillez dans un des domaines de production artistique visés par la Loi sur le statut professionnel et les conditions d'engagement des artistes de la scène, du disque et du cinéma.

Lorsque vous êtes un artiste résident du Canada et que vous indiquez explicitement à un producteur que vous vous prévalez de cette présomption, ce producteur n'a aucune obligation fiscale à titre d'employeur à votre endroit.

Pour plus de renseignements, vous pouvez consulter les bulletins d'interprétation suivants, dans le site des Publications du Québec :

  • Obligations fiscales d'une personne qui emploie un artiste œuvrant dans un des domaines de production artistique visés par la Loi sur le statut professionnel et les conditions d'engagement des artistes de la scène, du disque et du cinéma (IMP. 1015-5/R1);
  • Statut fiscal d'un artiste œuvrant dans un des domaines de production artistique visés par la Loi sur le statut professionnel et les conditions d'engagement des artistes de la scène, du disque et du cinéma (IMP. 80-3/R5).
Dernière mise à jour :