Gift of a Used Road Vehicle

Used road vehicles supplied by way of a gift between related individuals (This link will open a new window) are generally not subject to the GST/HST.

However, used road vehicles that must be registered under the Highway Safety Code and that are supplied by way of a gift are, as a rule, taxable under the QST system at the rate of 9.975%. The QST must be calculated on the vehicle's estimated value (This link will open a new window). However, the QST does not apply in the following cases:

  • An individual gives a vehicle to another individual and the two individuals are spouses or related by blood, marriage or adoption (in this case, the term "spouse" includes a de facto or common-law spouse, as defined for the purpose of calculating income tax). Both individuals must complete and sign form VD-80.1-V, Declaration of a Transaction Between Related Individuals with Regard to a Road Vehicle Registered in Québec.
  • The succession of a deceased person gives a vehicle to an individual in execution of the deceased's will or in accordance with the applicable legislation concerning inheritance.
  • The vehicle is transferred from one individual to another as part of the settlement of their rights arising from their marriage, subsequent to a divorce, legal separation, marriage annulment or death.

Under the QST system, gifts of used road vehicles that are registered are generally taxable (This link will open a new window) if one of the parties is a corporation. The QST is calculated on the estimated value of such vehicles, at the rate of 9.975%.

Last Updated:

Don de véhicules routiers d'occasion

Le don d'un véhicule routier d'occasion entre particuliers liés (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre) n'est généralement pas assujetti à la TPS/TVH.

Dans le régime de la TVQ, le don d'un véhicule routier d'occasion qui doit être immatriculé en vertu du Code de la sécurité routière est généralement taxable au taux de 9,975 %. La TVQ doit être calculée sur la valeur estimative (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre) du véhicule. Toutefois, la TVQ ne s'applique pas dans les cas suivants de dons ou de transferts de véhicules :

  • le véhicule est donné par un particulier à un autre particulier qui est son conjoint ou une personne qui lui est liée par les liens du sang, du mariage ou de l'adoption. À cette fin, la définition du terme conjoint inclut le conjoint de fait et renvoie à la définition prévue aux fins du calcul de l'impôt sur le revenu. Le donateur et l'acquéreur doivent remplir et signer le formulaire Déclaration de transaction entre particuliers liés portant sur un véhicule routier immatriculé au Québec (VD-80.1);
  • il est donné par la succession d'un particulier décédé, conformément au testament de ce dernier ou à la législation relative à la transmission de biens au décès;
  • le transfert du véhicule routier est effectué entre des particuliers en règlement des droits découlant de leur mariage, à la suite d'un divorce, d'une séparation de corps, d'une annulation de mariage ou d'un décès.

Le don de véhicules routiers d'occasion immatriculés est taxable (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre) dans le régime de la TVQ lorsque l'une des parties est une société. La TVQ à l'égard de tels véhicules doit être calculée au taux de 9,975 % sur leur valeur estimative.

Dernière mise à jour :