Completing Your Income Tax Return

You are required to provide all pertinent information about your income, deductions and credits so that you can calculate and pay the income tax you owe. By doing so, you are contributing your fair share to the financing of public services, particularly in the areas of education, healthcare and social services. If you fail to provide the necessary information, or provide inaccurate or incomplete information, you are liable to penalties; penal proceedings may also be brought against you.

If you fail to report income, and have already failed to report income of the same type in any of the three previous years, you are liable to a penalty calculated on the unreported income. You can make a voluntary disclosure in order to rectify your tax situation.

If you have already filed your income tax return, but did not report certain income, click Changing an Income Tax Return That You Have Already Filed.

Pursuant to the Act respecting Access to documents held by public bodies and the Protection of personal information and the Tax Administration Act, and subject to the restrictions provided for in these laws, you are entitled to be informed of the existence, in your tax file, of any information concerning you, and to receive communication of and consult any document containing such information. You can also request that corrections be made.

Last Updated:

Produire votre déclaration de revenus

Vous devez fournir tous les renseignements nécessaires concernant vos revenus, déductions et crédits afin de calculer et de verser votre part d'impôt. Ainsi, vous contribuez à l'équité fiscale et participez, selon votre situation, au financement des services offerts à la collectivité, notamment dans les secteurs de l'éducation, de la santé et des services sociaux. En fournissant des renseignements inexacts ou incomplets, vous vous exposez à des pénalités et vous êtes passible de poursuites pénales.

Si vous omettez de déclarer un revenu et que vous avez déjà omis de déclarer des revenus de même nature au cours de l'une des trois dernières années, vous vous exposez à une pénalité sur les revenus non déclarés. Vous pouvez faire une divulgation volontaire pour régulariser votre situation.

Si vous avez déjà transmis votre déclaration, mais que vous avez omis de déclarer un revenu, consultez la page Modification d'une déclaration de revenus déjà transmise.

En vertu de la Loi sur l'accès aux documents des organismes publics et sur la protection des renseignements personnels et de la Loi sur l'administration fiscale, vous avez le droit, sous réserve des exceptions prévues par ces lois, d'être informé de l'existence, dans votre dossier fiscal, des renseignements vous concernant, d'en recevoir communication et de consulter tout document contenant ces renseignements. Vous pouvez aussi demander la rectification de ces renseignements.

Dernière mise à jour :