List of recognized eco-friendly renovation work

Extension of the RénoVert tax credit

The period of eligibility for the RénoVert tax credit has been extended to March 31, 2018, for all recognized work other than the construction, renovation, modification or rebuilding of a system for the discharge, collection and disposal of waste water, toilet effluents or grey water in accordance with the requirements set out in the Regulation respecting waste water disposal systems for isolated dwellings.

For more information, click RénoVert Tax Credit Extended to 2018.

A.   Work relating to the envelope of a dwelling

A1  Insulation of the roof, exterior walls, foundations and exposed floors

  • The insulation materials used for insulation must be certified GREENGUARD or EcoLogo. In addition, the insulating value must satisfy the following standards:1
    • insulation of the attic: the insulating value achieved must be at least R-41.0 (RSI 7.22);
    • insulation of the flat roof or cathedral ceiling: the insulating value achieved must be at least R-28.0 (RSI 4.93);
    • insulation of the exterior walls: the increase in the insulating value must be at least R-3.8 (RSI 0.67);
    • insulation of the basement (including the header area): for the walls, the insulating value achieved must be at least R-17.0 (RSI 3.0) while, for the header area, the insulating value achieved must be at least R-20.0 (RSI 3.52);
    • insulation of the crawl space (including the header area): for the exterior walls (including the header area), the insulating value achieved must be at least R-17.0 (RSI 3.0), while for the floor area above the crawl space, the insulating value achieved must be at least R-24.0 (RSI 4.23);
    • insulation of exposed floors: the insulating value achieved must be at least R-29.5 (RSI 5.20).

A2  Sealing

  • Water-proof sealing of the foundations.
  • Air sealing of the envelope of the dwelling or of a portion of it (walls, doors, windows, skylights, etc.).

A3  Installation of doors or windows

  • Replacement or addition of doors, windows and skylights with ENERGY STAR qualified models for the climate zone where the dwelling is located.

A4  Installation of a green or white roof

  • Installation of a living roof.2
  • Replacement of a flat roof or a roof with a slope of under 2 in the vertical rise for every 12 units horizontally (2:12) or at 16.7% by a reflecting roof.3

B.   Work relating to the mechanical systems of the dwelling

B1  Heating system

  • Replacement of an indoor wood-burning system or appliance with one of the following:
    • an indoor wood-burning system or appliance that complies with the CSA-B415.1-10 standard or the 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart AAA standard of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) of the United States on wood-burning appliances. However, appliances not tested by the EPA are not eligible unless they have been certified under the CSA-B415.1-10 standard;
    • an indoor pellet-burning appliance (including stoves, furnaces and boilers that burn wood, corn, grain or cherry pits);
    • an indoor masonry heater.
  • Replacement of a solid fuel-fired outdoor boiler with an outdoor wood-burning heating system that complies with the CAN/CSA-B415.1 standard or the Outdoor Wood-fired Hydronic Heater program of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) (OWHH Method 28, phase 1 or 2), provided the capacity of the new system is equal to or smaller than the capacity of the one it replaces.
  • Installation of an ENERGY STAR qualified central split or ductless mini-split air-source heat pump including an outdoor unit and at least one indoor head per floor (excluding the basement) that has an Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI) number and satisfies the following minimum requirements:
    • a Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio (SEER) of 15.0;
    • an Energy Efficiency Ratio (EER) of 12.5;
    • a Heating Seasonal Performance Factor (HSPF) of 7.4 for region V;
    • a heating capacity of 12 000 Btu/h.
  • Installation of a geothermal system certified by the Canadian GeoExchange Coalition (CGC). A CGC-certified company must install the heat pump in accordance with the CAN/CSA-C448-16 standard. The CGC must also certify the system after installation.
  • Replacement of the heat pump of an existing geothermal system. A company certified by the Canadian GeoExchange Coalition (CGC) must install the heat pump in accordance with the CAN/CSA-C448-16 standard.
  • Replacement of a heating oil system with a system using propane or natural gas, provided the new system uses one of the following heating appliances:
    • an ENERGY STAR qualified furnace with an annual fuel utilization efficiency (AFUE) of at least 95% and equipped with a brushless direct current (DC) motor;
    • a zero-clearance furnace with an AFUE of at least 95%, if the dwelling is a mobile home;
    • an ENERGY STAR qualified boiler with an AFUE of at least 90%.
  • Replacement of a heating oil, propane or natural gas system with a system using electricity.
  • Replacement of a heating oil, propane, natural gas or electricity system with a qualified integrated mechanical system (IMS) that is CSA-P.10-07 certified and achieves the premium performance rating.4
  • Installation of solar thermal panels that comply with the CAN/CSA-F378-11 standard.
  • Installation of combined photovoltaic-thermal solar panels that comply with the CAN/CSA-C61215-08 and CAN/CSA-F378-11 standards.

B2  Air conditioning system

  • Replacement of a window air-conditioning unit or central air-conditioning system with an ENERGY STAR qualified central split or ductless mini-split air-conditioning system including an outdoor unit and at least one indoor head per floor (excluding the basement), provided the appliance has an Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI) number and satisfies the following minimum requirements:
    • a Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio (SEER) of 15.0;
    • an Energy Efficiency Ratio (EER) of 12.5.
  • Replacement of a central air-conditioning system with an ENERGY STAR qualified central split or ductless mini-split air-source heat pump including an outdoor unit and at least one indoor head per floor (excluding the basement) that has an Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI) number and satisfies the following minimum requirements:
    • a Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio (SEER) of 15.0;
    • an Energy Efficiency Ratio (EER) of 12.5;
    • a Heating Seasonal Performance Factor (HSPF) of 7.4 for region V;
    • a heating capacity of 12 000 Btu/h.

B3  Water heating system

  • Replacement of an oil-fired water heater with a water heater using propane or natural gas, provided the new water heater is one of the following:
    • an ENERGY STAR qualified instantaneous water heater that has an energy factor (EF) of at least 0.90;
    • a condensing storage-type water heater that has a thermal efficiency of at least 95%.
  • Replacement of a heating oil, propane or natural gas water heater with a water heater using electricity.
  • Installation of a solar hot water system that provides a minimum energy contribution of seven gigajoules per year (GJ/yr) and is CAN/CSA-F379-09 certified, provided the system appears on the CanmetENERGY Performance Directory of Solar Domestic Hot Water Systems.
  • Installation of a drain-water heat recovery system.
  • Installation of solar thermal panels that comply with the CAN/CSA-F378-11 standard.
  • Installation of combined photovoltaic-thermal solar panels that comply with the CAN/CSA-C61215-08 and CAN/CSA-F378-11 standards.

B4  Ventilation system

  • Installation of an ENERGY STAR qualified heat recovery ventilator or energy-recovery ventilator certified by the Home Ventilating Institute (HVI) and listed in Section 3 of their product directory (Certified Home Ventilating Products Directory). In addition, where installation makes it possible to replace an older ventilator, the new appliance must be more efficient than the older one.

C.   Water conservation and quality (unless the eligible dwelling is a cottage5)

  • Installation of an underground rain water recovery tank.
  • Construction, renovation, modification or rebuilding of a system for the discharge, collection and disposal of waste water, toilet effluents or grey water in accordance with the Regulation respecting waste water disposal systems for isolated dwellings.
  • Restoration of a buffer strip, in accordance with the requirements of the Protection Policy for Lakeshores, Riverbanks, Littoral Zones and Floodplains.6

D.   Soil quality

  • Decontamination of fuel oil-contaminated soil, in accordance with the requirements of the Soil Protection and Contaminated Sites Rehabilitation Policy.7

E.   Other renewable energy devices

  • Installation of photovoltaic solar panels that comply with the CAN/CSA-C61215-08 standard.
  • Installation of a domestic wind turbine that complies with the CAN/CSA-C61400-2-08 standard.
  1. For the purposes of these standards, the R factor is a symbol representing the thermal resistance of materials in imperial units. The factor is called the RSI value in the international measurement system.
  2. For greater clarity, a living roof is a roof that is partially or completely covered in vegetation. It is comprised of a waterproofing membrane, a drainage membrane and a growing medium to protect the roof and sustain vegetation.
  3. Authorized covers are white materials, materials painted white or covered with a reflective coating or white ballast, or materials with a solar reflectance index (SRI) of at least 78 in accordance with the manufacturer's specifications.
  4. This system encompasses the domestic heating, ventilation and heat recovery functions.
  5. An eligible dwelling will not be considered a cottage if the dwelling is an individual house or a permanently installed manufactured home or mobile home constituting the individual's principal place of residence.
  6. This policy is applied in accordance with municipal zoning and urban planning bylaws.
  7. This policy is published by Les Publications du Québec and available on the website of the Ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques, at http://www.mddelcc.gouv.qc.ca/sol/terrains/politique/.
Last Updated:

Liste des travaux de rénovation écoresponsable reconnus

A.   Travaux relatifs à l'enveloppe de l'habitation

A1  Isolation du toit, des murs extérieurs, des fondations et des planchers exposés

  • L'isolation doit être faite avec des matériaux isolants certifiés GREENGUARD ou ÉcoLogo. De plus, la valeur isolante doit respecter les normes suivantes(1) :
    • isolation du grenier : la valeur isolante atteinte doit être de R-41,0 (RSI 7,22) ou plus;
    • isolation du toit plat ou du plafond cathédrale : la valeur isolante atteinte doit être de R-28,0 (RSI 4,93) ou plus;
    • isolation des murs extérieurs : l'augmentation de la valeur isolante doit être de R-3,8 (RSI 0,67) ou plus;
    • isolation du sous-sol (y compris les solives de rive) : pour les murs, la valeur isolante atteinte doit être de R-17,0 (RSI 3,0) ou plus, alors que pour les solives de rive, la valeur isolante atteinte doit être de R-20,0 (RSI 3,52) ou plus;
    • isolation du vide sanitaire (y compris les solives de rive) : pour les murs extérieurs (y compris les solives de rive), la valeur isolante atteinte doit être de R-17,0 (RSI 3,0) ou plus, alors que pour la surface de plancher au-dessus du vide sanitaire, la valeur isolante atteinte doit être de R-24,0 (RSI 4,23) ou plus;
    • isolation des planchers exposés : l'augmentation de la valeur isolante doit être de R-29,5 (RSI 5,20) ou plus.

A2  Étanchéisation

  • Étanchéisation à l'eau des fondations.
  • Étanchéisation à l'air de l'enveloppe de l'habitation ou d'une partie de celle-ci (murs, portes, fenêtres, puits de lumière, etc.).

A3  Installation de portes ou de fenêtres

  • Remplacement ou ajout de portes, de fenêtres et de puits de lumière par des modèles homologués ENERGY STAR pour la zone climatique dans laquelle l'habitation est située.

A4  Installation d'un toit vert ou d'un toit blanc 

  • Installation d'un toit végétalisé(2).
  • Remplacement d'un toit plat ou d'un toit dont la pente est inférieure à 2 unités à la verticale dans 12 unités à l'horizontale (2:12) ou à 16,7 % par un toit réfléchissant(3).

B.   Travaux relatifs aux systèmes mécaniques de l'habitation

B1  Système de chauffage

  • Remplacement d'un appareil ou d'un système de chauffage au bois intérieur par l'un des suivants :
    • un appareil ou un système de chauffage au bois intérieur conforme à la norme CSA-B415.1-10 ou à la norme 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart AAA de l'Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) des États-Unis sur les appareils de chauffage au bois. Toutefois, les appareils qui ne sont pas mis à l'essai par l'EPA ne sont pas admissibles, à moins d'être certifiés en vertu de la norme CSA-B415.1-10;
    • un appareil intérieur à granules (y compris les poêles, les générateurs d'air chaud et les chaudières au bois, au maïs, aux grains ou aux noyaux de cerises);
    • un corps de chauffe intérieur en maçonnerie.
  • Remplacement d'une chaudière extérieure à combustible solide par un système de chauffage extérieur au bois conforme à la norme CAN/CSA-B415.1 ou au programme Outdoor Wood-Fired Hydronic Heater de l'Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) (OWHH Method 28, phase 1 ou 2), pour autant que la puissance du nouveau système soit égale ou inférieure à celle de l'ancien.
  • Installation d'une thermopompe à air homologuée ENERGY STAR de type bibloc central ou minibibloc sans conduits comprenant une unité extérieure et au moins un dispositif par étage (à l'exclusion du sous-sol) qui comporte un numéro de l'Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI) et satisfait aux exigences minimales suivantes :
    • un taux de rendement énergétique saisonnier (Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio [SEER]) de 15,0;
    • un taux de rendement énergétique (Energy Efficiency Ratio [EER]) de 12,5;
    • un coefficient de performance de la saison de chauffage (Heating Seasonal Performance Factor [HSPF]) pour la région V de 7,4;
    • une capacité de chauffage de 12 000 Btu/h.
  • Installation d'un système géothermique certifié par la Coalition canadienne de l'énergie géothermique (CCEG). Seule une entreprise agréée par la CCEG peut procéder à l'installation de la thermopompe conformément à la norme CAN/CSA-C448-16. La CCEG doit également certifier le système après l'installation.
  • Remplacement de la thermopompe d'un système géothermique existant. Seule une entreprise agréée par la Coalition canadienne de l'énergie géothermique (CCEG) peut procéder à l'installation de la thermopompe conformément à la norme CAN/CSA-C448-16.
  • Remplacement du système de chauffage au mazout par un système utilisant du propane ou du gaz naturel, pourvu que le nouveau système utilise l'un des appareils de chauffage suivants :
    • un générateur d'air chaud homologué ENERGY STAR dont l'efficacité annuelle de l'utilisation de combustible (Annual Fuel Utilization Efficiency [AFUE]) est d'au moins 95 % et qui est muni d'un moteur à courant continu (CC) sans balai;
    • un générateur d'air chaud sans dégagement dont l'AFUE est d'au moins 95 %, si l'habitation est une maison mobile;
    • une chaudière homologuée ENERGY STAR dont l'AFUE est d'au moins 90 %.
  • Remplacement du système de chauffage au mazout, au propane ou au gaz naturel par un système utilisant de l'électricité.
  • Remplacement du système de chauffage au mazout, au propane, au gaz naturel ou à l'électricité par un système mécanique intégré homologué (SMI), qui est conforme à la norme CSA-P.10-07 et qui atteint les exigences de performance supérieure (premium) à la norme(4).
  • Installation de panneaux solaires thermiques conformes à la norme CAN/CSA-F378-11.
  • Installation de panneaux solaires combinés photovoltaïques-thermiques conformes aux normes CAN/CSA-C61215-08 et CAN/CSA-F378-11.

B2  Système de climatisation

  • Remplacement d'un climatiseur de fenêtre ou d'un climatiseur central par un climatiseur homologué ENERGY STAR de type central bibloc ou minibibloc sans conduits comprenant une unité extérieure et au moins un dispositif par étage (à l'exclusion du sous-sol), pourvu que l'appareil comporte un numéro de l'Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI) et satisfasse aux exigences minimales suivantes :
    • un taux de rendement énergétique saisonnier (Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio [SEER]) de 15,0;
    • un taux de rendement énergétique (Energy Efficiency Ratio [EER]) de 12,5.
  • Remplacement d'un climatiseur central par une thermopompe à air homologuée ENERGY STAR de type bibloc central ou minibibloc sans conduits comprenant une unité extérieure et au moins un dispositif par étage (à l'exclusion du sous-sol) qui comporte un numéro de l'Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI) et satisfait aux exigences minimales suivantes :
    • un taux de rendement énergétique saisonnier (Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio [SEER]) de 15,0;
    • un taux de rendement énergétique (Energy Efficiency Ratio [EER]) de 12,5;
    • un coefficient de performance de la saison de chauffage (Heating Seasonal Performance Factor [HSPF]) pour la région V de 7,4;
    • une capacité de chauffage de 12 000 Btu/h.

B3  Système de chauffe-eau

  • Remplacement d'un chauffe-eau au mazout par un chauffe-eau utilisant du propane ou du gaz naturel, pourvu que le nouveau chauffe-eau soit l'un des suivants :
    • un chauffe-eau instantané homologué ENERGY STAR offrant un facteur énergétique (FE) d'au moins 0,90;
    • un chauffe-eau de type réservoir à condensation offrant un rendement thermique de 95 % ou plus.
  • Remplacement d'un chauffe-eau au mazout, au propane ou au gaz naturel par un chauffe-eau utilisant de l'électricité.
  • Installation d'un chauffe-eau solaire qui offre un apport énergétique minimal de sept gigajoules par année (GJ/an) et qui est conforme à la norme CAN/CSA-F379-09, pourvu que cet appareil figure dans le Répertoire de rendement des chauffe-eau solaires résidentiels de CanmetÉNERGIE.
  • Installation d'un appareil de récupération de la chaleur des eaux de drainage.
  • Installation de panneaux solaires thermiques conformes à la norme CAN/CSA-F378-11.
  • Installation de panneaux solaires combinés photovoltaïques-thermiques conformes aux normes CAN/CSA-C61215-08 et CAN/CSA-F378-11.

B4  Système de ventilation

  • Installation d'un ventilateur récupérateur de chaleur ou d'un ventilateur récupérateur d'énergie homologué ENERGY STAR, certifié par le Home Ventilating Institute (HVI) et figurant à la section 3 de son répertoire de produits (Certified Home Ventilating Products Directory). De plus, dans le cas où l'installation permet de remplacer un ancien ventilateur, le nouvel appareil doit afficher une efficacité supérieure à l'ancien.

C.   Conservation et qualité de l'eau (sauf si l'habitation admissible est un chalet(5))

  • Installation d'une citerne de récupération des eaux pluviales enfouie sous terre.
  • Construction, rénovation, modification ou reconstruction d'un dispositif d'évacuation, de réception ou de traitement des eaux usées, des eaux de cabinet d'aisances ou des eaux ménagères conformément aux exigences du Règlement sur l'évacuation et le traitement des eaux usées des résidences isolées.
  • Restauration d'une bande riveraine, conformément aux exigences de la Politique de protection des rives, du littoral et des plaines inondables(6).

D.   Qualité du sol

  • Décontamination du sol contaminé au mazout, conformément aux exigences de la Politique de protection des sols et de réhabilitation des terrains contaminés(7).

E.   Autres dispositifs d'énergie renouvelable

  • Installation de panneaux solaires photovoltaïques conformes à la norme CAN/CSA-C61215-08.
  • Installation d'une éolienne domestique conforme à la norme CAN/CSA-C61400-2-08.
  1. Pour l'application de ces normes, le facteur R est un symbole qui représente la résistance thermique des matériaux, exprimé dans le système impérial d'unités. Ce facteur peut aussi être exprimé selon le système international d'unités, soit la valeur RSI.
  2. Pour plus de précision, un toit végétalisé est une toiture entièrement ou partiellement recouverte de végétation, qui comporte une membrane étanche, une membrane de drainage et un substrat de croissance permettant de protéger le toit et d'accueillir la végétation.
  3. Sont des revêtements autorisés les matériaux de couleur blanche, peints de couleur blanche, recouverts d'un enduit réfléchissant, recouverts d'un ballast de couleur blanche ou dont l'indice de réflectance solaire (IRS) est d'au moins 78 selon les spécifications du fabricant.
  4. Un tel système assure les fonctions de chauffage domestique, de ventilation et de récupération de chaleur.
  5. Une habitation admissible ne sera pas considérée comme un chalet, si cette habitation est une maison individuelle, une maison usinée ou une maison mobile installée à demeure qui constitue le lieu principal de résidence d'un particulier.
  6. L'application de cette politique s'effectue selon les règlements de zonage et d'urbanisme des municipalités.
  7. Cette politique est publiée par Les Publications du Québec et accessible sur le site Internet du ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques au www.mddelcc.gouv.qc.ca/sol/terrains/politique/.
Dernière mise à jour :