Changes in Your Situation During the Year

If you receive advance payments each month, you must notify us immediately by telephone of any change in your situation. We will let you know whether or not you have to file a new application for advance payments.

Important

You may be required to pay back the amounts that you received as advance payments of this tax credit if you no longer meet the requirements for claiming the credit or if your situation has changed in the course of the year. Moreover, if you received advance payments during the year but no longer reside in Québec at the end of the year (on December 31), you still have to file an income tax return.

Move

The amount of the tax credit you may claim varies depending on the type of dwelling in which you live and on the rent you pay. Therefore, moving may have an impact on the amount of tax credit to which you are entitled.

If you move, you must file a new application for advance payments and provide us with a copy of:

  • your new lease, if you are moving into an apartment building; or
  • your new lease and the schedule to the lease, if you are moving into a private seniors' residence.
Important

If you or your spouse moves into a public institution or a dwelling unit under agreement in a private seniors' residence, the services included in your rent will not be eligible for the tax credit. You must inform us of your move as soon as possible so that we can stop or adjust your advance payments. This will prevent you from having to reimburse any amounts overpaid to you.

Death

When a person dies, we must stop the payments (if the person was living alone) or adjust them (if the person was living in a conjugal relationship). You must inform us as soon as possible of the date of death of the recipient or the recipient's spouse so that we can:

  • stop or adjust the payments and avoid having to reimburse any overpayments;
  • ensure that the spouse, if applicable, continues to receive advance payments.

New spouse or separation

You must inform us if:

  • you have a new spouse; or
  • you and your spouse have separated.

Such changes will affect the amount of advance payments you are entitled to receive. Also, if you have a new spouse, we must know who will receive the advance payments.

Change in your family income

You must inform us as soon as possible if your family income changes during the year, as such a change may affect the amount of advance payments you are entitled to receive.

The tax credit is reduced by 3% of the portion of family income that is over $56,515.

Modification or renewal of the lease

As soon as a change is made to the conditions in your lease (for example, a service is added or withdrawn, or the rent changes), you must file a new application for advance payments and enclose the notice of modification of your lease specifying the change. In the application form, you must enter the period during which the new conditions apply (start date and end date).

You must also file a new application for advance payments when you renew your lease, even if the conditions in the lease do not change.

We will send you a new application for advance payments a few weeks before the end of your lease so that you can complete the application and send it with your notice of renewal of the lease.

Last Updated:

Changements en cours d'année

Si vous recevez des versements anticipés chaque mois, vous devez nous aviser immédiatement, par téléphone, de tout changement dans votre situation. Nous vous préciserons alors si vous devez remplir une nouvelle demande de versements anticipés.

Important

Vous pourriez avoir à rembourser les sommes reçues par versements anticipés si vous ne respectez pas les conditions d'admissibilité au crédit, ou si votre situation a changé pendant l'année. Notez que, si vous avez reçu des versements anticipés au courant de l'année et que vous ne résidez plus au Québec à la fin de l'année, soit le 31 décembre, vous devez tout de même remplir votre déclaration de revenus.

Déménagement

Le crédit d'impôt varie en fonction du type d'habitation dans lequel vous habitez et du loyer que vous payez. Ainsi, un déménagement peut modifier le crédit auquel vous avez droit.

Si vous déménagez, vous devez remplir une nouvelle demande et nous la faire parvenir accompagnée d'un des documents suivants :

  • votre nouveau bail, si vous habitez un immeuble de logements; 
  • votre nouveau bail et l'annexe au bail, si vous habitez une résidence privée pour aînés.
Important

Si vous ou votre conjoint déménagez dans un établissement public ou dans un logement qui est une unité conventionnée située dans une résidence privée pour aînés, les services inclus dans le loyer à payer ne sont pas admissibles au crédit d'impôt. Vous devez donc nous aviser dès que possible de votre déménagement afin de faire cesser ou modifier vos versements anticipés. Ainsi, vous éviterez de devoir nous rembourser des sommes reçues en trop.

Décès

Lorsqu'une personne décède, nous devons cesser les versements si cette personne vivait seule ou les rajuster si elle vivait en couple. Vous devez nous informer dès que possible de la date du décès du bénéficiaire ou de son conjoint, afin

  • de faire cesser ou modifier les versements et, ainsi, de ne pas avoir à rembourser des sommes reçues en trop; 
  • de permettre au conjoint, s'il y a lieu, de continuer à recevoir les versements anticipés.

Nouveau conjoint ou séparation

Un nouveau conjoint ou une séparation aura des conséquences sur le montant des versements anticipés que vous recevez. De plus, si vous avez un nouveau conjoint, vous devez déterminer qui recevra les versements anticipés et nous en aviser.

Changements dans vos revenus familiaux

Durant l'année, si vos revenus familiaux changent, il est important que vous nous avisiez le plus tôt possible. Tout changement peut modifier le montant des versements anticipés auquel vous avez droit.

Par exemple, lorsque le revenu familial dépasse 56 515 $, le crédit d'impôt est réduit de 3 % de la portion qui dépasse ce revenu.

Modification ou renouvellement du bail

Dès qu'un changement est apporté aux conditions de votre bail (par exemple, un ajout ou un retrait de service ou une variation dans le coût du loyer), vous devez nous transmettre une nouvelle demande, accompagnée de l'avis de modification qui précise les changements. Vous devez indiquer la période pendant laquelle ces nouvelles conditions s'appliquent (date de début et date de fin du changement) dans le formulaire de demande.

Lors du renouvellement de votre bail, vous devez nous transmettre une nouvelle demande même si aucun changement n'est apporté aux conditions du bail initial.

Nous vous transmettrons un formulaire de demande de versements anticipés quelques semaines avant la fin de votre bail afin que vous puissiez nous le retourner dûment rempli avec votre avis de renouvellement de bail.

Dernière mise à jour :