Calculating the Tax Credit – Private Seniors' Residence

The amount of eligible expenses included in your rent is calculated using calculation tables, taking into account your monthly rent and the eligible services included in your rent that are indicated on the schedule to the lease (a mandatory form provided by the Regie du logement).

A basic amount is granted to seniors who pay rent in a private seniors' residence, and minimum and maximum amounts are determined for each eligible service provided by the residence.

The total amount granted for all services received may not be more than 65% of your rent. If you are a dependent senior (This link will open a new window), total eligible expenses may not be more than 75%. The 75% limit also applies if your spouse is a dependent senior aged 70 or older.

The calculation of the tax credit can also take into account eligible home-support services that are not included in your rent. Such services (for example, laundry service) are either pay-per-use or provided under a contract, and are referred to as occasional services.

The tax credit is equal to 32% of the cost of eligible services, whether they are services included in your rent or occasional services. It is reduced by 3% of the portion of your family income that is over $55,320.

If you live with one or more co-tenants, the monthly amount eligible for the tax credit is calculated by dividing the total monthly rent by the number of co-tenants (This link will open a new window).

You can use the Advance Payments Estimator – Tax Credit for Home-Support Services for Seniors to estimate the amount of the tax credit for home-support services for seniors that you may be entitled to receive.

Last Updated:

Calcul du crédit d'impôt pour maintien à domicile des aînés – Résidence privée pour aînés

Les dépenses admissibles incluses dans votre loyer sont déterminées à l'aide de tables de calcul basées sur votre loyer et précisées dans votre annexe au bail (formulaire obligatoire de la Régie du logement).

Un montant de base vous est accordé si vous payez un loyer dans une résidence privée pour aînés. De plus, pour chaque service admissible offert par la résidence, des valeurs minimales et maximales sont déterminées.

Le total de la valeur accordée aux différents services reçus ne pourra pas dépasser 65 % de votre loyer. Dans le cas d'une personne non autonome (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre), ce total ne peut pas dépasser 75 %. Cette limite de 75 % s'applique également si votre conjoint a 70 ans ou plus et qu'il est non autonome.

En plus du coût de votre loyer, vous pouvez payer des services admissibles à chaque utilisation ou en vertu d'un contrat (par exemple, l'aide pour l'entretien de vos vêtements). Ces services admissibles, qui ne sont pas inclus dans le coût de votre loyer, sont des services occasionnels.

Le crédit d'impôt est égal à 32 % du coût des services admissibles inclus dans le coût de votre loyer et des services occasionnels. Toutefois, ce crédit est réduit de 3 % de la partie du revenu familial qui dépasse 55 320 $.

Si vous habitez en colocation, le montant mensuel donnant droit au crédit est déterminé en divisant votre loyer mensuel total par le nombre de colocataires (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre).

Utilisez l'outil de calcul Outil d'estimation des versements anticipés – Crédit d'impôt pour maintien à domicile des aînés pour estimer le montant du crédit d'impôt que vous pourriez recevoir.

Dernière mise à jour :