Tax Credit for Tuition or Examination Fees

You can claim a non-refundable tax credit for your tuition or examination fees paid for 2016 or for 1997 through 2015, provided they have never been used to calculate a tax credit for tuition or examination fees.

You can transfer to one of the individuals below the unused portion of the tax credit, provided that the transferred portion relates to your tuition or examination fees paid for the year (see the instructions for line 398.1 in the guide to the income tax return [TP-1.G-V]):

  • your or your spouse's father or mother; or
  • your or your spouse's grandfather or grandmother (or the spouse of your or your spouse's grandfather or grandmother)

To claim or transfer a tax credit for tuition or examination fees, complete Schedule T and enclose it with your return. If you are transferring the unused portion of the tax credit to one of the individuals mentioned above, he or she must complete Part D of Schedule A of his or her return.

Note
  • Even if you are not claiming or transferring a tax credit for tuition or examination fees for 2016, you should still complete Schedule T to determine the cumulative amount of fees that you can carry forward and enclose the schedule with your return.
  • You can claim a tax credit for tuition and examination fees even if they were paid by another person.

For more information on the tax credit for tuition or examination fees, see the instructions for line 398 in the guide to the income tax return (TP-1.G-V).

Last Updated:

Crédit d'impôt pour frais de scolarité ou d'examen

Vous pouvez demander un crédit d'impôt non remboursable pour vos frais de scolarité ou d'examen payés pour l'année 2016, et pour ceux payés pour les années 1997 à 2015, s'ils n'ont jamais servi à calculer un crédit d'impôt pour frais de scolarité ou d'examen.

Vous pouvez transférer, à l'un de vos parents ou de vos grands-parents ou à l'un des parents ou des grands-parents de votre conjoint, la partie inutilisée du crédit d'impôt qui se rapporte aux frais de scolarité ou d'examen payés pour l'année (voyez à ce sujet les instructions concernant la ligne 398.1 dans le Guide de la déclaration de revenus [TP-1.G]).

Si vous demandez ou transférez un crédit d'impôt pour frais de scolarité ou d'examen, remplissez l'annexe T et joignez-la à votre déclaration. Notez que la personne à qui vous transférez le crédit d'impôt doit remplir la partie D de l'annexe A de sa déclaration.

Notes
  • Même si vous ne demandez pas de crédit d'impôt pour frais de scolarité ou d'examen pour 2016 ou même si vous ne faites aucun transfert, vous avez avantage à remplir l'annexe T pour calculer le montant cumulatif des frais que vous pouvez reporter à des années futures.
  • Vous pouvez demander un crédit d'impôt pour vos frais de scolarité ou d'examen même s'ils ont été payés par une autre personne.

Pour plus de renseignements au sujet du crédit d'impôt pour frais de scolarité ou d'examen, voyez les instructions concernant la ligne 398 dans le Guide de la déclaration de revenus (TP-1.G).

Dernière mise à jour :