Amount for a Severe and Prolonged Impairment in Mental or Physical Functions

You can claim an amount that will reduce your income tax payable if, during a year, you had a severe and prolonged impairment in mental or physical functions. The impairment must be certified (as applicable) by one of the following professionals:

  • a physician
  • an optometrist
  • an audiologist
  • a speech therapist (speech-language pathologist)
  • an occupational therapist
  • a psychologist
  • a physiotherapist

As a rule, your impairment is considered severe and prolonged if it meets both of the following conditions:

  • It has lasted (or is expected to last) for at least 12 consecutive months.
  • It has significantly limited your ability to perform a basic activity of daily living (seeing, speaking, hearing, walking, eliminating, feeding or dressing yourself, or functioning in everyday life because you do not have the necessary mental or physical functions).
Chronic illness
Your ability to accomplish everyday tasks is also limited if, because of chronic illness, you undergo therapy prescribed by a physician at least twice a week, and the therapy is essential to the maintenance of one of your vital functions, and requires at least 14 hours per week. This includes time for travel, medical appointments, and post-treatment recovery.

For more information, see the instructions for line 376 in the guide to the income tax return (TP-1.G-V).

Certificate respecting an impairment

If you are claiming this amount for the first time, you must enclose with your return a copy of form TP-752.0.14-V, Certificate Respecting an Impairment, or, depending on your situation, the Canada Revenue Agency form T2201, Disability Tax Credit Certificate.

If your health has improved since you last filed a certificate respecting your impairment, you must inform us.

Last Updated:

Montant pour déficience grave et prolongée des fonctions mentales ou physiques 

Vous pouvez demander un montant qui réduira votre impôt à payer si vous aviez, au cours d'une année, une déficience grave et prolongée de vos fonctions mentales ou physiques attestée, selon le cas, par

  • un médecin;
  • un optométriste;
  • un audiologiste;
  • un orthophoniste;
  • un ergothérapeute;
  • un psychologue;
  • un physiothérapeute.

De façon générale, pour que votre déficience soit considérée comme grave et prolongée, 

  • elle doit avoir duré ou il est prévu qu'elle dure au moins 12 mois consécutifs;
  • elle limitait de façon marquée votre capacité d'accomplir une activité courante de la vie quotidienne (voir, parler, entendre, marcher, éliminer, vous alimenter, vous habiller, fonctionner quotidiennement faute de capacités mentales ou physiques nécessaires).
Maladie chronique
Votre capacité d'accomplir une activité courante de la vie quotidienne est aussi limitée si, en raison d'une maladie chronique, vous recevez, au moins 2 fois par semaine, des soins thérapeutiques prescrits par un médecin, qui sont essentiels au maintien de l'une de vos fonctions vitales et qui exigent que vous y consacriez au total au moins 14 heures par semaine (cela inclut le temps pour vos déplacements, les visites médicales et la récupération nécessaire après un traitement).

Pour plus de renseignements, voyez les instructions concernant la ligne 376 dans le Guide de la déclaration de revenus (TP-1.G).

Attestation de déficience

Si vous demandez ce montant pour la première fois, vous devez joindre le formulaire Attestation de déficience (TP-752.0.14) ou le formulaire fédéral Certificat pour le crédit d'impôt pour personnes handicapées (T2201) à votre déclaration.

Si votre état de santé s'est amélioré depuis la dernière fois que vous avez produit un document attestant votre déficience, vous devez nous en aviser

Note
Même si vous avez obtenu un document attestant votre déficience, nous pouvons vous demander de nous transmettre les renseignements nécessaires qui figurent dans votre dossier médical. Nous pouvons aussi demander l'avis d'un autre médecin ou praticien.
Dernière mise à jour :