Amounts for a Child Enrolled in Post-Secondary Studies

Child under 18 enrolled in post-secondary studies

You can claim an amount that will reduce your income tax payable if, in a given year, you had a dependent child who meets both the following conditions:

  • Your child was under 18 throughout that year.
  • Your child was a full-time student pursuing vocational training or post-secondary studies.

For more information, see the instructions regarding the amount for a child under 18 enrolled in post-secondary studies (This link will open a new window) (Part A of Schedule A) on line 367 in the guide to the income tax return (TP-1.G-V).

Amount transferred by a child 18 or over enrolled in post-secondary studies

If, during a given year, you were the father or mother (This link will open a new window) of a child who was 18 or over on December 31 of that year, your child can transfer to you an amount representing the recognized parental contribution to his or her education, provided both the following conditions are met:

  • Your child was a full-time student enrolled in vocational training at the secondary level or in post-secondary studies.
  • Your child completed at least one term that he or she began during the year.

For more information, see the instructions regarding an amount transferred by a child 18 or over enrolled in post-secondary studies (Part B of Schedule A) on line 367 in the guide to the income tax return (TP-1.G-V).

Last Updated:

Montants pour enfant aux études postsecondaires

Montant pour enfant mineur aux études postsecondaires

Vous pouvez demander un montant qui réduira votre impôt à payer si, au cours d’une année, vous aviez un enfant à charge et que celui-ci

  • avait moins de 18 ans tout au long de cette année;
  • poursuivait à temps plein des études secondaires à la formation professionnelle ou des études postsecondaires.

Pour plus de renseignements, voyez les instructions concernant le montant pour enfant mineur aux études postsecondaires (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre) (partie A de l’annexe A) à la ligne 367 dans le Guide de la déclaration de revenus (TP-1.G).

Montant transféré par un enfant majeur aux études postsecondaires

Si, au cours d’une année, vous étiez le père ou la mère (Ce lien ouvrira une nouvelle fenêtre) d'un enfant âgé de 18 ans ou plus au 31 décembre de cette année, ce dernier peut vous transférer un montant à titre de contribution parentale reconnue si les deux conditions suivantes sont remplies :

  • il poursuivait à temps plein des études secondaires à la formation professionnelle ou des études postsecondaires;
  • il a complété au moins une session d'études qu’il a commencée au cours de l’année.

Pour plus de renseignements, voyez les instructions concernant le montant transféré par un enfant majeur aux études postsecondaires (partie B de l’annexe A) à la ligne 367 dans le Guide de la déclaration de revenus (TP-1.G).

Dernière mise à jour :