Movable Property and Vehicles of a Deceased Tenant

Landlord

If you are a landlord, you cannot dispose of the vehicles belonging to a deceased tenant or the movable property left in his or her dwelling as you see fit. You must comply with certain formalities that are prescribed by law.

If no one else is living in the dwelling, you can move the deceased's movable property to a secure location to reduce the expenses that may be incurred. However, that property is stored at your own risk.

Once we are designated as the liquidator of the succession, we will take appropriate action with respect to the movable property. You can claim legitimate expenses from us. Subject to the funds available in the succession, such expenses will be reimbursed according to your rank (as set out in the Civil Code of Québec).

Note

If a liquidator has not yet been named, contact us to find out what you should do. To ensure that the deceased's movable property and vehicles are processed faster, you can prepare an inventory of the deceased's property (including photos).

Successor

If you are a successor and you intend to renounce the succession, you can enclose an inventory of the movable property and vehicles (including photos) with your renunciation file to facilitate its processing and the release of the dwelling. You can also give us the names of any individuals interested in acquiring the property so that we can contact them.

Note

If the deceased had a rental vehicle, it belongs to the creditor. In such a case, contact the creditor to inform it of the death.

Last Updated:

Biens meubles et véhicules d'un locataire décédé

Locateur

Si vous êtes locateur, vous ne pouvez pas disposer à votre guise des véhicules appartenant à un locataire décédé ni des biens meubles qui se trouvent dans son logement. Vous devez respecter les formalités prévues par la loi. 

Si aucune autre personne n'occupe le logement, vous pouvez déménager les biens meubles dans un endroit sécuritaire pour minimiser les frais que vous pourriez devoir engager. L'entreposage des biens meubles est cependant fait à vos risques. 

Au moment où nous liquiderons la succession, nous prendrons les mesures appropriées à l'égard des biens meubles en question. Vous pourrez alors réclamer les frais que vous aurez légitimement engagés. Votre créance sera payée selon votre rang (prévu dans le Code civil du Québec), sous réserve de la disponibilité des fonds de la succession. 

Note

Vous pouvez communiquer avec nous directement en attendant qu'un liquidateur de la succession soit nommé. Afin de faciliter et d'accélérer le traitement des biens meubles et des véhicules, vous pouvez en dresser l'inventaire et joindre des photos à celui-ci.

Successible

Si vous êtes un successible et que vous comptez renoncer à la succession, vous pouvez joindre l'inventaire des biens meubles et des véhicules ainsi que les photos de ceux-ci à votre dossier de renonciation afin d'accélérer le processus de traitement du dossier et la libération du logement. Vous pouvez aussi nous transmettre le nom des personnes intéressées à acquérir ces biens afin que l'on puisse communiquer avec elles.

Note

Si la personne décédée avait un véhicule en location, celui-ci appartient au créancier. Dans ce cas, vous pouvez communiquer avec lui afin de l'informer du décès.

Dernière mise à jour :