Taxpayer and Mandatary Recourse

Taxpayers and mandataries who disagree or are dissatisfied with the processing of their files have several options when it comes to asserting their rights throughout the tax audit process.

  • Further to an in-person audit, a taxpayer or mandatary will receive a draft assessment. The taxpayer or mandatary then has 21 days to comment on the draft assessment or otherwise defend his or her position with the auditor, or the auditor's superiors, if necessary.
  • A notice of assessment will be sent to the taxpayer or mandatary, who may file a notice of objection within 90 days following the date appearing on the notice, if he or she disagrees with it. Within the 90-day period, the taxpayer or mandatary can contact us and put forward arguments to have the notice of assessment amended.
  • If a taxpayer or mandatary disagrees with the decision rendered in respect of the notice of objection, he or she may lodge an appeal with the Civil Division of the Court of Québec, the Small Claims Division of the Court of Québec or the Tax Court of Canada (GST).
  • Under very specific circumstances (an inability to pay, having been the victim of an error, an exceptional situation), a taxpayer or mandatary may file a request to have interest, penalties or administrative charges cancelled.
  • If a taxpayer or mandatary is dissatisfied with the processing of the file, he or she can also register a complaint with us.
  • If a taxpayer or mandatary believes that he or she has been penalized or has been the victim of an injustice, he or she can contact the Protecteur du citoyen, who may intervene in fiscal matters.
Last Updated:

Recours des contribuables et des mandataires

Les contribuables et les mandataires en désaccord avec le traitement de leur dossier ou insatisfaits de celui-ci disposent de plusieurs recours pour faire valoir leurs droits à différentes étapes du processus de vérification fiscale.

  • Tout d'abord, à la suite d'une vérification à son établissement, le contribuable ou le mandataire reçoit un projet de nouvel avis de cotisation. Il dispose de 21 jours pour le commenter et faire valoir sa position auprès du vérificateur ou des supérieurs concernés s'il le juge nécessaire.
  • Ensuite, un avis de cotisation est envoyé au contribuable ou au mandataire. Ce dernier, s'il est en désaccord avec cet avis, peut, dans un délai de 90 jours à compter de la date qui y figure, présenter un avis d'opposition.
  • Si le contribuable ou le mandataire est en désaccord avec la décision rendue concernant son avis d'opposition, il peut faire appel devant la Chambre civile de la Cour du Québec, la Division des petites créances de la Cour du Québec ou la Cour canadienne de l'impôt (TPS).
  • Dans des situations bien précises (incapacité de payer, victime d'une erreur, situation exceptionnelle), le contribuable ou le mandataire peut formuler une demande d'annulation d'intérêts, de pénalités ou de frais.
  • Si le contribuable ou le mandataire est insatisfait du traitement de son dossier, il peut en tout temps nous adresser une plainte.
  • Si le contribuable ou le mandataire croit être lésé ou victime d'une injustice, il peut s'adresser au Protecteur du citoyen qui peut intervenir dans tout dossier de nature fiscale.
Dernière mise à jour :