Tax Evasion

Tax evasion involves deliberately ignoring a specific part of the law. A major source of tax evasion is the failure of individuals and businesses to report certain economic activities in order to avoid paying all the income tax they owe.

For example, individuals who deliberately conceal income (or businesses that deliberately conceal part of their sales) in order to pay less income tax are engaging in tax evasion. Workers in the underground economy and businesses that fraudulently claim tax refunds are also committing tax evasion.

Certain sectors, such as the construction and restaurant sectors, are particularly affected by tax evasion and the underground economy. However, the unlawful sale of tobacco products and fraudulent activities in the real estate and investment sectors are also identified as major sources of tax evasion.

The consequences of tax evasion and the underground economy

  • The government sustains enormous revenue losses.
    These losses directly affect its debt level and jeopardize its capacity to provide services and fund programs that meet the needs of our ever-changing society.
  • Some people have to pay for others.
    Individuals who comply with the law shoulder a heavier tax burden than they should because they must compensate for others who participate in the underground economy.
  • Businesses face unfair competition.
    Businesses that fulfill their tax obligations face unfair competition from those that do not.
Last Updated:

Qu'est-ce que l'évasion fiscale?

La pratique de l'évasion fiscale consiste à ignorer délibérément une partie précise de la loi. Une source importante d'évasion fiscale est la dissimulation d'activités économiques à l'État par des citoyens et des entreprises, qui agissent ainsi afin de remettre moins d'argent qu'ils ne le devraient au fisc.

Par exemple, un citoyen ou une entreprise qui dissimule délibérément des revenus ou une partie de son chiffre d'affaires afin de payer moins d'impôt s'adonne à l'évasion fiscale. Il en est de même, par exemple, des travailleurs au noir et des entreprises qui demandent frauduleusement des remboursements de taxes.

Certains domaines, dont la construction et la restauration, sont particulièrement touchés par l'évasion fiscale et le travail au noir. La vente illicite de produits, dont ceux du tabac, les transactions immobilières de même que les placements et les investissements constituent également des sources importantes d'évasion fiscale.

Conséquences de l'évasion fiscale et du travail au noir

  • Le gouvernement subit des pertes de revenus énormes.
    Ces pertes touchent directement son niveau d'endettement et influencent sa capacité d'offrir des services et de financer des programmes qui répondent aux besoins de notre société, en constante évolution. 
  • Des citoyens paient pour d'autres.
    Les particuliers qui respectent les lois voient leur charge fiscale injustement alourdie, parce qu'ils doivent compenser les pertes fiscales occasionnées par ceux qui s'adonnent au travail au noir. 
  • Des entreprises subissent une concurrence déloyale.
    L'évasion fiscale constitue une concurrence déloyale pour les entreprises respectueuses des lois et conscientes de leurs responsabilités sociales. Les entreprises qui s'adonnent à l'évasion fiscale peuvent se permettre d'offrir des produits et services à moindre coût, créant ainsi une concurrence déloyale envers les entreprises honnêtes.
Dernière mise à jour :